1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question re: KDLL32MRX1 Media Cable

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by mattgb, Jun 21, 2005.

1. mattgb

mattgb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to the formum so hello all.

I am getting a Sony KDLL32MRX1 delivered soon but have a quick question that those of you who already have one should be able to answer: How long is the standard cable that connects the display to the media box?

I can`t find this information anywhere (even at my local Sony store they did not know - the one on display was all wired into the wall so probably had the 10 metre optional cable - although they couldn`t confirm this either).

I am asking since I need the cable to be at least 5m long and it`ll be just my luck that it`ll only be a couple of metres long and I`ll have to fork out the extra £100plus quid for the optional 10 metre cable (which will probably be, realtively, rubbish it being a Sony branded cable rather than a decent independent one).

Actually, that begs another question - the media cable looks proprietary to me - is this the case? or could I get a decent cable from Ixos/QED/Other to replace the standard one? (I`ll only need video transmitted to the display since have a separate amp to handle the sound).

Cheers
    Matt

2. mattgb

mattgb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh well - tv has turned up and media cable is 3m long - bah :(

I would still like to know if cable is proprietary - it looks like a 19-pin DVI cable and a 26-pin DFP (MDR) (???) cable in one?

Any help greatly appreciated.

Cheers
    Matt

P.S. cheapest I have seen VMC-P10 cable fro is £150!!! (And yes the 3 metre one is pretty basic - suprise, suprise)

3. paulockenden

paulockenden
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0