1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question re Component connections

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by MrNPG, Apr 18, 2005.

  1. MrNPG

    MrNPG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +44
    Hi folks,

    Quick question concerning Component connections. At present I am used to using an RGB SCART connection for my DVD player/Plasma. What I like about SCART is the automatic "switching" that you get, i.e. when I switch on the DVD player, the plasma automatically switches to the correct AV channel and, more importantly, if I play an anamorphic DVD, the plasma will automatically switch to the correct "wide" mode. Therefore, there is NO manual intervention required on my part to watch a DVD correctly.

    However, am I right in assuming that if I was to use a Component connection, I would loose the auto switching and I would have to manually select the correct AV channel on the plasma AND select the correct aspect mode?? I appreciate that the better picture quality of component might "outweigh" these inconveniences but I'm lazy and I like everything to "auto-select"!

    Would appreciate your comments.

    Cheers.
     
  2. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
    Let me put it this way.....I rather take picture quality over auto-select!
     
  3. Setch

    Setch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have NTL digital with Scart RGB out to my 435XDE box. I recently bought a JS RGB to component box and it made no improvement to the picture at all.


    Setch
     
  4. thegooseman

    thegooseman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a 42"pw7 with scart. Ixos 801. ****** good lead.
    Ive Had my local panny dealer demonstrate the difference beetween this lead(which is one of the best on the market) to the best quality component they could find.

    They reluctantly Installed another board (component) so could compare directly (pic in pic), and lent me an identical dvd recorder to my existing one. put the same film on both ("the day after tomorow").

    NO DIFFERENCE

    In fact I preffered the scart pic. :eek:

    So seriously, as long as you have a good lead, just enjoy the amazing pic quality instead of trying to spot every little inperfection. :thumbsup:
     
  5. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,804
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +520
    There is a way of encoding a component signal (by adding some information in between frames) which tells a TV when to switch aspect ratios. However, it's not absolutely guaranteed that any given TV will respond correctly, nor is it guaranteed that any given source will add the flag correctly. However, your chances that it will work are probably better than 50/50.
     
  6. Llanowar

    Llanowar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure they changed the output from the dvd player to yuv, and put component on? These guys are normally quite dumb so...
     
  7. Davidgilmour

    Davidgilmour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +13
    LOL :D :D :D :D :D :D
     
  8. mr_incredible

    mr_incredible
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    One thing we are forgetting here guys is that component can carry a progressive scan signal where as scart cannot. I think it depends on your set-up and quality of dvd player/recorder. Running a dvd with component using progressive scan DOES produce a better picture but you have to have: a: a good quality dvd player, b: a good quality lead and c: a good quality tv. Having said that as thegooseman said if you use a good quality scart cable you should be fine and there wont be such a massive jump in quality between that and component. But...... if you get a good quality component lead then it will still outweigh RGB scart. so many swings and round-a-bouts!!!!!!
     
  9. thegooseman

    thegooseman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    They definately did,
    I dont know who you use but the guys I use are very clued in.
     
  10. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    Hello all

    MrNPG - RGB is a 'Component' signal - though not the same one as a 'YUV' Component signal.

    As others have pointed out you may find that your source has the ability to Output a Progressive YUV signal - whereas its most likely to only offer you Interlaced RGB.

    The benefit for you could be that 01. Your source/display is better with YUV than it is with RGB and 02. If your source does Output Progressive YUV its better at the deinterlacing than your Display.

    Auto wide screen switching is generally only available on SCART (RGB in your case) and is a dependent on the DVD being correctly 'flagged'.

    Possibly if you test YUV and prefer how it looks over RGB you could employ someone to push the 'Aspect' and 'Input Select' buttons on your remote :)

    If your really keen there is a 'Black Box' that enables you to retain Auto Aspect switching with YUV on certain kit combinations!

    Setch - bad idea/advice. Your Source is outputting RGB and your TV has RGB enabled SCART sockets. There's no requirement/reason to attempt a conversion to YUV in your set up.

    thegooseman - that's one seriously messed up demo technique ;)

    I've yet to see any DVD Recorders produce a seriously decent YUV signal - this is more of a 'convenience' feature on these units and they generally look best Outputting RGB.

    Trying to judge two sources in PnP mode sounds fun - your looking at the Display reprocessing two different signals. Better to try switching between two 'Optimised' Inputs from the Two sources. Keep in mind your 'optimised' settings for RGB will not be the same for YUV.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  11. thegooseman

    thegooseman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Granted the yuv signal was pretty poor, the rgb was better but still not good enough to beet the scart.
    Any Ideas why joe ferdinand?
    Using Dmre65hebs.
     
  12. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    hello thegooseman

    RGB is generally carried over SCART - you need to tell your Source to Output RGB and your Display to look for the RGB signal on the relevant Input.

    You can use pretty much any SCART cable to transmit RGB + Stereo audio plus there are (usually Higher cost) dedicated RGB Video Only and RGB Video + Stereo audio SCART cables that offer less signal degradation than poorly constructed fully wired SCART cables.

    I have to say I'm not entirely sure what you were 'looking' at if SCART was better than RGB!!!

    I see you also have an X-Box - how is that connected/configured?

    Joe
     
  13. thegooseman

    thegooseman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    X-box through composite in on dvd recorder.
    Pic not an issue on this!
     
  14. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    thegooseman

    Some would say that's a criminal waste of a very high quality source :)

    At worse get an RGB enabled SCART cable and daisy chain it on RGB via the DVD Recorder and for best performance get the HighDef cable kit and really 'see' what it can do at 720P via YUV.

    I take it you have a SCART Board in your Display?

    Joe
     
  15. thegooseman

    thegooseman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Scart board yes. You mentioned high def on x-box?
    Sounds good!!!!! :smashin:
    Tell me how in laymans terms.
     
  16. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    Hello thegooseman

    TY-42TM6TB SCART Board - not my favourite Input option. Its low cost but too 'soft' for my liking - unfortunately the alternatives cost a few bob.

    X-Box - order the Microsoft HD Cable pack plus a TY-42TM6AB YUV via BNC Board (or the equivalent RCA Board) plus five minutes to reconfigure your X-Box settings and that's it. You may get more pointers in the Gaming Forum further down the page.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  17. thegooseman

    thegooseman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So via a component board.
    And the pw7 will accept hd even if it has no hd board? (these do not exist in uk spec, different frequency, I checked)
     
  18. JohnCCFC

    JohnCCFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
  19. thegooseman

    thegooseman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ta very much like!!!!!!!
     
  20. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    thegooseman

    The YUV Board (BNC or RCA versions) will accept a range of Interlaced and Progressive Analogue Video signals including the most 'popular' HD formats; 720P(50), 720P(60) and 1080i(60).

    Once you have the X-Box HighDef cable pack you can choose to output SD or HD depending on the game your playing; I'm sure someone with much more X-Box knowledge than me will jump in to clarify.

    Best regards

    Joe

    PS I believe you may be mixing the YUV and the DVI Board up when you say there is a lack of HD support in the UK spec.
     
  21. thegooseman

    thegooseman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I probably am.
     
  22. JohnCCFC

    JohnCCFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    I believe what happens is; you set the 'region' to NTSC. You are then given three output options 480p, 720p, 1080i (not sure whether i or p) in your xbox dash. You can tick which options your tv supports, and then the game will auto output the best that it can in line with what you've ticked. Most games will be 480p, some, not so many, can be 720p, very very few can output higher.
     
  23. thegooseman

    thegooseman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will order the avanced scart lead immidiately.
    thanxs for ure help dude
     
  24. groove

    groove
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +159
    You will have to mod your xbox to do this though unless its a US one.
     
  25. JohnCCFC

    JohnCCFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    The soft mod (HD output) will ONLY work through the HD advanced component cable.
     
  26. groove

    groove
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +159
    John is right, MS HiDef pack is component only.

    But WOW, what a difference it makes, even 90% of standard games will run in 480p , and the few 720p and 1080 ones look almost as good as PC stuff.

    Well worth it.
     
  27. rickyroma

    rickyroma
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    923
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +70
    yeah ive played Mx Vs Atv Unleashed in 1080i on my pw7 and I have to say it looks stunning !
     
  28. thegooseman

    thegooseman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I get it moded?
    Or will I have to do that myself?
    Shal I cancel my lead order and order the hd one?
     
  29. JohnCCFC

    JohnCCFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    The soft mod trick produces a FAR superior PQ.

    Did you not read this link I gave you? It should give you pretty much all the answers you need. If you need the save it mentions, PM me your email address. If you have the required bits and pieces, it takes 5 minutes to do. :smashin:

    If you really wanted the advanced scart cable, I could give you one, but you want the MS (not cheapo) Advanced HD Component cable. Oh yes !!
     
  30. thegooseman

    thegooseman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    NICE BRUV!!
    Will do, ta.
     

Share This Page

Loading...