1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question on Marantz Receivers

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Rainbow6, Oct 9, 2003.

Tags:
  1. Rainbow6

    Rainbow6
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just wondering if anyone can tell me if the Marantz SR43/4400 or 53/5400 have A/B speaker switch, so that you can listen to the same source in 2 rooms, or whatever? At least, that's my understanding of the purpose of the AB switch the Yamaha's have - if I'm wrong as to their purpose, please correct me. Just interested in a receiver that could do this (I know the 7400 will have this function).
    Cheers,
    Jim

    -Also, when Marantz receivers quote 80 Watts power, or 90 Watts, does that mean it's 80/90 watts continuous power, or is that the max power and it can fluxuate downwards?
     
  2. pwiles1968

    pwiles1968
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire - England
    Ratings:
    +10
    I do not believe they do, here is a link, info is a little old and may not be exact but no mention of AB. (my 5300 does not)

    http://www.marantz.com/pdfs/e_sr5400.pdf

    With respect to the 7400 this is multi room multi source, you can listen to a different source in room 'B' at different volumes to room 'A', I think it uses the amplifiers for the centre rear channels to do this.

    The AB on your Yamaha will probably just run the two sets of speakers in parallel, from tha main amp.
     
  3. Rainbow6

    Rainbow6
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks PWILES,
    Any idea about the power output too? I don't have a Yamaha but I've heard their power ratings can be trusted at whatever they are quoted at, and that sometimes the power output will be even higher. But I've heard with other brands the power can actually fluctuate below the declared amount. Just wondering if Marantz was one of these?
    Cheers,
    Jim
     
  4. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,849
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,222
    I think Marantz massively underquote their stereo amps but are about on the money with their recevers.
     
  5. Rainbow6

    Rainbow6
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Tons.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Power ratings are quoted at certain conditions impeadance THD etc so they dont mean a lot unless all quoted at the same conditions and then if your speakers are different they will mean very little
     
  7. TheSeer

    TheSeer
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Anyone know if there is going to be a SR8400 or SR9400 when the new range of receivers is launched?
     
  8. pwiles1968

    pwiles1968
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire - England
    Ratings:
    +10
    They are still advertising 8300 and 9300 in latest catalogue, I think they are software upgradeable via RS232 so do not need to be replaced as often to keep up with the latest processing, or I may be totally wrong we will see.
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    HK4550 has multiroom function fo a second room as part of its 7.1 setup ie 5.1 and another room or 7.1 You can always use the tape loop out to a cheap stereo AMP form RS with some speakers!
     

Share This Page

Loading...