1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question for Scart Expert

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by DaveyS, Apr 6, 2004.

  1. DaveyS

    DaveyS
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to forum and would appreciate some advice from an expert. I have spent a few days trying to follow the setup in each of the manuals - each of which seems different and complicated.
    I want to record wedding & family video's from the VCR to the DVD but think that my scart connections are wrong. Sent a request to Panasonic but have as yet received no reply. I have the following set up....

    TX-36PG50 (AV1 - AV2 - AV4)
    DMR-E100H (AV1 - AV2)
    NV-FJ760B VCR (AV1 - AV2)
    Grundig SkyDigibox DV3 (TV - VCR)

    There is no room for the DMR-E20 and I use it in another room.
    My son - also a novice - suggested that I need a scart multi-plug.
    I use the DVD and VCR to record Sky and Terrestrial when the need arises.

    I am hoping that there is an expert out there who can help.

    DaveyS
     
  2. Member 34135

    Member 34135
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You need to route video/audio out of the VCR into the DVDR, you could use a scart connection between one of the VCR scarts and one of the DVDR scarts. Assuming you have both devices connected to the TV, you may be able to route the video out from the TV scart back into the DVDR if it is a bi-directional scart on the DVDR? eg suppose VCR is on scart AV1, you set the TV to output AV1->AV2. The DVDR would be on AV2. I am not familiar with the details of these models but it might give you some ideas...

    Andy
     
  3. mray

    mray
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +217
    On the front of your Panasonic you should have 3 av-in sockets (red-white-yellow). You need to check your vcr and see if it has av out sockets at the back, then connect leads from the av-out on vcr to av-in on front of E100. Set the E100 to ch AV3. When you play the video you should see the image on the tv.

    If you don't have the av out sockets on your vcr then you need to use the scart lead that connects your vcr to the back of your tv to connect to the av-in scart socket on the back of the Panasonic, though this means a lot of plugging and unplugging when you're finished! I hope you can make sense of my reply 'cos it don't make any sense to me!!!! Cheers and good luck!
     
  4. DaveyS

    DaveyS
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the advice - appreciated.
    Will have a play around with it.

    DaveyS
     
  5. jem

    jem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Sky TV to DVD AV2
    DVD AV1 to TV AV1
    VCR to Sky VCR
    VCR TV to TV AV2 - useful to allow you to watch Sky when recording terrestial TV.

    Sky set to RGB
    DVDR to RGB
    DVDR AV2 input - RGB
    AV2 connection - Normal

    The above setting applies when you want to record from Sky - select AV2 on the DVDR.

    When you want to record from the VCR onto the DVDR, change the AV2 input to PAL - remember to change it back to RGB to record Sky.
     
  6. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,790
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
    DaveyS

    Not much help to your wiring conundrum I know but why copy from VHS?

    If you have the original tapes and its from your own Camcorder I'd suggest going directly from the Camcorder to the DVR - saving that one generation of duplication will make a big difference to the collection you library onto DVD.

    Best regards

    Joe

    PS I find it best to get pen and paper out and 'wire' the system on paper first.
     
  7. DaveyS

    DaveyS
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for all the advice - finally managed to crack it.
    Just in case someone else has same problem these are my connections.

    TV AV1 to SAT TV
    TV AV2 to DVD AV1 (for Q-Link)
    VCR AV1 to DVD AV2
    VCR AV2 to SAT VCR

    Have not used TV AV4

    Already done some copying off VHS tape (grandaughter growing up) by setting the DVD input to AV2.

    DaveyS
     
  8. jem

    jem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Only problem with this set up is that you will not be recording from Sky in RGB - you will only be recording in composite which is greatly inferior.

    Also most TVs do not have RGB in on AV2 ( I don't know your model to be sure ) so you are not watching your DVD in RGB, only in composite - again greatly inferior.
     
  9. DaveyS

    DaveyS
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ooops - buggered it up (again)
    I will have to get all the machine out of the cabinet and change them around as you suggested.

    Did not realise re inferior quaility.
    You seem to be the expert.

    Thanks

    DaveyS
     
  10. jem

    jem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Just edited my post about watching the DVD in RGB just as you replied. May be important to you also.
     
  11. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,354
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +144
    Davey S

    This is a lot simpler than it really looks!

    Simply connect from your VCR to the REAR composite/audio input sockets (AV4). You will nead a SCART to composite video/audio phono cable (signal direction OUT of scart).

    You can now use the AV1 and AV2 scart for your digi box (which is what they are meant for) and enjoy RGB.

    This is how I have mine set up, although I use the S-video input socket, as I have an SVHS vcr.

    All this is clearly explained in the manual.
     
  12. mray

    mray
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +217
    Davey S.
    Please excuse my earlier post. I assumed you were just connecting up your vcr now and then, hence my rambling reply. Your options make much more sense!
     
  13. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,354
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +144
    No they don't :confused:
     
  14. mray

    mray
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +217
    Sorry Kevo, I thought your post was from DaveyS too!!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...