1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question for museumsteve

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by Messiah, Jul 2, 2002.

  1. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Hi museumsteve

    I have a UK Xbox chipped with the Enigmah chip and have downloaded the Enigmah Video Select v2 iso.

    Can you please advise how I use it to enable NTSC progressive output. Have burnt the iso to a CD but XBox cannot recognise it. If I cen't get it working then it will be a US XBox for me.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,778
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,100
    I would assume that like a PC you need to make the CD bootable (would be an option in Nero etc.). Usually running a search through Google with the keywords will bring up solutions to these type of problems.

    (not that I have any experience of these boot disks lah :p)
     
  3. Kevin Harris

    Kevin Harris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    You will have to burn the image to a DVDR or DVDRW as the Xbox has difficulty reading any other type of CD media.

    DVDRW is the most reliable and most DVDR's work but not all

    Cheers

    Kev
     
  4. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Hmmm. What program do you use to burn an iso to a DVD-R. I have tried Nero and EZCD but both will only burn it to CD-R. Says DVD-R is the wrong type of disc (and yes I am trying in my A04 burner :D )

    Thanks.
     
  5. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,526
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,007
    I'm not 100% up on this buring lark but Xbox will only read CDRW not CDR..
     
  6. LYF

    LYF
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    But you're 100% correct.
     
  7. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,526
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,007
    of course..:)
    I now have evolutionX running on my modded Xbox and it's fantastic..
    Lovin' every minute of Xbox homebrew dev scene now..and not a gold disc in sight.
    I even went out and bought a copy if Quake II to make an Xbox file to play the game on Xbox..from my Xbox HD of course..
     
  8. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    This is beginning to sound very interesting indeed!!! I'd hoped that the PC-architecture of the Xbox would make it more accessible to doing other interesting things.

    Have I got this right then;

    On an ordinary US Xbox with Enigmah chip you are,
    - running ALL your software in progressive, including PAL stuff
    - you have a version of MAME that is running old arcade games off the hard disk
    - you have been able to go out and buy off the shelf PC software and then get it to run on your Xbox with modifications.


    OR have i got completely the qwrong end of the stick from your various posts?

    Do you mind giving us some more details....and the level of difficulty for the various hacks. Any pointers in the right direction for how to do all this stuff would be interesting too.

    Regards,
    Ian Guinan
     
  9. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Well, I have a UK XBox chipped with the Enigmah chip, outputting NTSC AND PAL progressive (using the Video Select CD, which I now run directly from the HD having added it to the boot menu. EvolutionX has enabled me to do this as well as adding games directly to the HD and also making my own backups using ftp direct from the XBox HD to my PC HD and then output via my DVD burner. Phew! get all that.

    All 100% true and just bl**dy brilliant :D
     
  10. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,778
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,100
    I suppose this also has the added benefit of maybe visiting a few nefarious sites and downloading X-Box ISO's?

    Still prefer my PC and Gamecube :p
     
  11. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Don't need to with EvolutionX. Do it yourself ;)
     
  12. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,526
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,007
    not sure where the idea of runnig PC games/apps on the Xbox came from, but it doesn;t. Not yet anyway.
    As for Xbox ISO's, only stuff that interests me is the emulator scene and adding my own games to HD. Not interested in anything else, but then I'm a retailer (games) so it's something I have no intention of trying..
     
  13. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    What was the bit about going out and buying a copy of Quake II, and making a file to run it on the Xbox HD then?

    I'm especially interested in the emulator scene, but from what I gather the version of MAME runs only on development Xbox systems, or am I wrong?

    I'm just getting my head around all of this, so be patient!

    Regards,
    Ian Guinan
     
  14. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    As far as I am aware, MAME will run on standard XBox's but I think you have to be running EvolutionX which gives you ftp access to the HD.
     
  15. jason t

    jason t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    hi ian
    evolution x allows you to play origional xbox games to your computer hard drive !!
    i.e rent a game play it to your computer hard drive take the game back,then you can play the game from the image on your hard drive no more buying games in theory ;)

    jason
     
  16. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    Thanks for that explanation..I wasn't aware that Quake II was out for the Xbox either, hence my confusion.

    I'm getting closer to getting one the more I hear!

    Another question;
    Will Enigmah allow DVDs to be played back in progressive or just 480i?
    Where can you buy a region 1 DVD widget (www.liksang.com don't seem to have them).
    Would you buy a modded US one, or a modded UK one if you wanted prog scan?

    Regards,
    Ian Guinan
     
  17. jason t

    jason t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    try dvd boxoffice.com or amazon .com i think they sell them!!
    i got my high def pack from dvd boxoffice they are pretty good.
    i have the extender chip and when my xbox is set to ntsc i can display a 480p image (film) to my projector but i cant confirm if it's proggressive

    jason
     
  18. NeoBlade

    NeoBlade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    480p is NTSC progressive since the "p" stands for it ^_^ If it was 480i then that would be an NTSC interlaced signal. It certainly would be interesting to use the Xbox as a prog.scan DVD player... Even though it won't be as good as a dedicated unit of course, its still a nice bonus.
     
  19. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,526
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,007
    Ian, modded Xbox wont output progressive DVD yet, I say yet because the speed things are moving with underground development anything's possible..
    Also if you're gonna chip, get a UK machine it means no step-down and that's the only difference..:)
     
  20. merrick

    merrick
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    There IS a Quake2 emulator, you need the original PC disc to copy the files across. It works a treat, but I need to get hold of another chipped Xbox to see if it works on a LAN. I heard the author of the emu will be releasing Quake3 soon too.
     
  21. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    Thanks Merrick! That answers my question.

    Finally;

    Where in the UK is the best place to buy a modded Xbox?

    Which is reckoned to be the best mod?

    Is the 'video select' ISO still around for download?

    ...with the answers to these I'm getting one!

    Regards,

    Ian Guinan
     
  22. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Well the Enigmah chip has given me no problems whatsoever and after all that is the chip the Video Select Iso is specifically written for. If you need the ISO I can send it to you. PM me.
     
  23. merrick

    merrick
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  24. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,526
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,007
    the video mode disk works with any chip as it's an xbox ISO, I use one with an Xtender which I've had no problems with..
    Quake II is great on Xbox but does suffer from serious loading times as it has to load each stage as it comes to it.
    I now have evolutionX running on my Xbox and run mame and Quake from my Xbox hard-drive and the loading is much quicker..but still painful at times..
     

Share This Page

Loading...