Question for Denon 3802 owners

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by plb, Feb 19, 2002.

Tags:
  1. plb

plb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been using my 3802 for about two months now and I am very pleased with it but !!
    I have only just started listening to the radio and I have noticed a very intermittent problem.
    On certain radio stations I notice that the red Stereo indicator somtimes flashes on and off.
    I live in Coventry and seem to notice it more on our two local radio stations Mercia FM and Kix 96 FM when they are playing bass heavy dance type music.
    I am using an external aerial and the signal is very good.
    I assume the obvious thing to say is that I have a fault but why should it only show up on certain radio stations??
    Should I get it changed.
    If so I brought it from Hi-Fi Junkies so should I expect any problems getting them to replace it?
    Paul

2. Desticado

Desticado

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Would have thought it was more likely an intermitant reception problem or transmission problem.

I get similar on my car radio sometimes.

Signal 'sounds' ok but the stereo indicator blinks on an off at high speeds.

3. JPC

JPC

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well we know this happens with weak signals.... but as this is happening with your most local stations, it could be a bit of overload on your front end....... although AGC should by rights control any overpowering signal there.....

Try these stations with a length of wire indoors as an aerial and see what happens.

Regards JOHN (in BALSALL COMMON)

4. plb

plb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    John, I see you live in Balsall Common so I assume you can receive Mercia FM and Kix 96 loud and clear?
    Do you have the Denon 3802?