Question about refresh rates (50 or 60hz vs 100hz), and suggestions for which TV I could get

simoncdale

Standard Member
Hi guys,

Firstly, sorry for asking a fairly basic question. I know it must be really annoying to have to constantly answer questions from complete novices.

I currently have a Sony KDL40W5500, which I think first came out around 2009, for around £1000. Was handed down to me by my parents a few years ago when they got a new TV. From what I can tell it has a 100hz refresh rate?

My question is, if I now get a new TV with a refresh rate less than 100hz am I going to notice a difference? Or is technology so much better 10 years on that it doesn't make any difference?

My other issue is my budget isn't very high for a new TV. It was actually my girlfriend who suggested we get a new one, but she doesn't really want to spend more than £400, definitely not £500, and doesn't want a 50" TV as she thinks it'll be too big for our lounge, so it looks like I'm stuck with choosing a 43" set for around £400, maybe £450.

For info, I'm not a gamer. We just use our TV for everyday watching, plus Netflix, Amazon Prime etc. I also like watching sport (mainly football, but also cricket and golf), which is why I was wondering about the refresh rate.

Any help and advice you could give would be really greatly appreciated.

Cheers
Simon

EndlessWaves

Distinguished Member
Being able to show 100 frames a second means the TV is able to use technology called motion interpolation (Sony often lumps it under the Motionflow brand with other motion-related features).

Motion interpolation invents frames between those in the content to approximate a higher quality source, but it doesn't always manage it without visual errors so it's optional - some people like it and some people don't. So you may not even be using it on your current TV.