Question about new AV purchase, I'm a newbie!! Setup advice

Waynester

Prominent Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys

a newbie into setting up my system choice, haven't bought it all yet!

My bedroom is 10 feet by 20 feet

I've Just bought a Panasonic TX-55CX802B Television, it's going up on my wall on Monday :)

I've decided to get the following equipment to add to it for 5.1 Surround Sound and i also want to listen to CD's using my Marantz Signature CD Player, but bit worried about what CD's will sound like..

Denon AVRX2200W Home Cinema Receiver
Cambridge Audio Aero 6 Speakers
Cambridge Audio SX70 Centre Speaker
Cambridge Audio SX50 Speakers
Cambridge Audio SX120 Subwoofer

If I connect all this up and buy a separate hi fi power amp, how do I use this power amp on its own with just the Aero 6 Speakers if there already connected to the Denon AV amp as front surround sound speakers?
or do you think the Denon AV Amp will suffice and be good enough for listening to Music CD's

Or can anyone suggest a better system and setup procedure?
Does my system choice look okay?

Will be watching lots of Blu Ray music concerts and movies etc

My budget is £1250 for everything

Hello
Why the seperate power amp, what is your thinking as a purchase and how will you accommodate that in your budget? You would use a designated pre out on the denon to your power amp and wire your speakers to the power amp.
Also why so much Cambridge audio? Is it a listening preference or have you been to richer sounds??

If you are truly concerned about CD quality sound, your marantz hooked up to a nice second hand 2ch stereo amp and speakers could also be considered. Just a thought.

Personally I would buy the denon and the speakers and run it in for 4-8 weeks absolute minimum and then see if you really need that power amp at this stage. There are plenty of 'pure' modes on modern AV amps that can shut down unrequired circuitry when 2ch stereo is the listening requirement.