1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

question about electric screens

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by shawn, Sep 8, 2004.

  1. shawn

    shawn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    birmingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    just a quick ,question about electric screens

    ive seen a post further down about about triggers, but im just wondering how do u know when u can use a electric screen on a projector?

    what i mean is, i want to connect it so when i switch on it comes down and when i shut down it raises,

    also is there a special input on the projector to connect the electric screen into?

    sorry to ask but i have never had a electric screen and im going to buy one and just want to know, as im pretty new to this.
    thankyou
     
  2. Dominic

    Dominic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2001
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    have a look at the thread i just started about my AE500 for some more info

    but if your projector has a trigger output then this can be used. This usually is in the form of a 3.5mm headphone socket on the back panel along with all the video inputs

    I have put some details on the other thread on how to convert this output into droping the screen when the PJ is on and send it up when the PJ is off.

    good luck
     
  3. shawn

    shawn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    birmingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    what would i do if theres no trigger socket mate?
     
  4. Dominic

    Dominic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2001
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    you are in a bit of bother then..

    you may have to go for a remote control option whereby you can send an IR of RF signal to a receiver connected to the screen to drop and raise it. but im not an expert in that area, although you can buy the kits to adapt electric screens. but they are not cheap.

    If you did this and used a remote control that can use macro's, IE you can tell it do a number of events when you push a single button the phillips pronto etc then you could have a macro button that would turn on the projector and send a signal to the screen to lower it.

    its now getting more complex . or you could just put up with the extra remote control.

    have you bought the projector yet then ? if not then you could put the trigger on your list of things it must have.

    good luck
     
  5. shawn

    shawn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    birmingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    yes mate i bought a acer 110z projector, but it has not been delivered to me yet,
    im 99% sure this dont have a trigger.
     
  6. shawn

    shawn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    birmingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    just curious what size is a 7ft screen? is it 90 inches viewing area?
     

Share This Page

Loading...