1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question about daylight usage

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by RBT, Sep 13, 2003.

1. RBT

RBT

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    I'm a complete newbie to the projector world, but not to home AV.

I'm building my new home in Florida with construction starting this November. I'm going to build all the home cinema equipment in from day one.

Until a few weeks ago I was going down the large Plasma route (60"+) but the more I think about it, the more I like the idea of a projector instead. (plasma leaking, "burn" etc)

Only thing holding me back is I want to use it in daylight conditions as well as darkened.

Can you guys give me any advice because I can't find much in the FAQ's and previous discussions on this subject.

BTW, my max. budget is pretty high for the projector/screen is probably around $15K, so I have quite a bit of freedom.

Any advice is most greatly appreciated,

Ross.

2. Kramer

Kramer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    With that budget I'd suggest a plasma & projector.

Projector's are pretty useless for "full" daytime viewing, needing darkness to produce their best results.

:smoke:

3. RBT

RBT

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Drat! :(

I was hoping that there would be a projector which could be used for both. Oh well, back to the ol' drawing board then! :)

Thanks Kramer.

4. Kramer

Kramer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    A projector is/can never be a replacement for a regular TV (direct view, rear pro. or plasma). The darkest "black" is basically the amount of light hitting/reflected from your screen. Screens tend to be white so one can imagine how "white" dark scenes & blacks will be in daylight conditions.