Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Query re: openin nokia ondigital boxg

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Mr.D, Jun 2, 2003.

  1. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,209
    I want to replace the mains lead on my nokia ondigital box with a better quality one.This should prove quite straight forward but I've hit a stumbling block.

    I can't get into the case! Most of the screws are normal torx headed ones but the ones on the sides are torx but with a raised centre pin ( probably some sort of security measuree).

    Does anyone know what sort of fastener this is and if I can get a suitable driver for them??
     
  2. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try Maplin, I got a set for my sky+ box, they were £9.99.

    DaveP
     
  3. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,209
    Ah its called in the trade "tamperproof torx" that'll be the one!
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Lik sang selll these for pence but Maplin, CPC, a market are your best bet!
     
  5. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,209
    Thanks fellas

    A wee trip to maplins is in order tomorrow.
     
  6. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,209
    Dang!.

    Just had another look and the screws in question may well not be tamperproof torx. Torx has 6 points but these only have 5!

    Any ideas?

    Failing this I'm going to have to buy a dremel and slice the case a bit.
     
  7. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Pliers!!!

    However be careful I had a broken RF socket but the tuner went while it was in bits

    £70 to repair:(
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Still try maplin for a Tamper proof 5 point head screw remover. I gauruntee Snap-on Mac or Britool will make em!!!
     
  9. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    11,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +6,522
    I believe B&Q do these tools... Or just try a trade electrical outlet. Thats where I got my torx 6 from for taking apart my nokia phones...
     
  10. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,209
    I'll have a look fellas. Failing that its a dremel and a custom access panel operation!
     
  11. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,209
    Got them!
    Just used a nice little flathead and bent the security pin out of the way. Took a bit of doing and I had to use a pair of pliers on the driver to give it enough welly but they are now out and the good thing is the case seems to hold together pretty well without them.

    Now just wait for new mains lead and solder it in when it arrives.

    Thanks for the advice.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice