quality and playback speed

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by etaf, Sep 17, 2005.

  1. etaf

    etaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,013
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +63
    I'm about to put some documentaries onto DVD+R
    they are 6 programmes I hour each so 6Hours - broadcast on freeview
    What will the quality be like If I use FR on my panasonic to record all to One DVD ?
    i dont really want to test drive - One DVD for 6 hours and then that no good
    So two DVD's for 3hours etc.
    i would like to get onto the smallest number of DVD's so One would be cool

    or do i really need to try it
     
  2. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +297
    Panasonics are good at 4 hours. Not so good at lower quality than this. No recorders are - and Panasonics are probably the best pic.
    Why DVD+R? What's wrong with the Panasonics original DVD-R. Probably your best option is to put them on two discs.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,013
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +63
    Thanks, great info, saves a lot of trail and error - i'll keep to <=4hrs nowon i use two disks - and -R NOT +R my mistake
     
  4. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +297
    I suppose that you could do a 1 hour or so test recording on a DVD-RAM disc. This will give you better quality than DVD-R. If you are happy with the result then you could record the 6 hours onto DVD-RAM. If not - then the RAM disc is re-usable so you haven't lost anything except a little time.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,013
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +63
    thats an idea to try however,
    I set the recording on a DVD-R for 3hours and used FR - so it would get the best quality out of a DVD-R - after a little over 2hours I heard the panasonic es20 start to make a noise like reading the DVD and then it stopped and went to self check.
    Its working back to normal now, but if i put that DVD in it seems to have a problem - recording again OK ??
    anyone seen this before, can discs do this ?
     
  6. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +297
    Yes indeed. You do occasionally get a bad disc on a spindle and unfortunately there doesn't appear to be any visual signs. Just hope you don't get more than the odd one - and sure enough it will just happen to a vital recording you have set on the timer.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,013
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +63
    ok great thanks - i hoped thats all it was

    edit:
    just recorded two DVD's at 3 hours each - quality is fine , must have been a bad DVD in the bunch

    thanks saved me a lot of trail and error.
     

Share This Page

Loading...