Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Quali-tv stb

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by Respectamonkeee, Feb 24, 2004.

  1. Respectamonkeee

    Respectamonkeee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Aylesbury...where the Ducks live!!
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have i got this right?
    If i was to buy one of the quali-tv stb with CA ,all i would then need is a 60cm dish alined to astra?

    is that all i need to receive euro 1080?

    also if i was to buy a uk DVHS machine could i then record the signal


    What other channels could i get?...already have sky+ with quad lnb but i have 2 of them and that takes all the inputs so i'd need another dish



    thanks for your help

    :)
     
  2. Ricardfred

    Ricardfred
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
  3. Respectamonkeee

    Respectamonkeee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Aylesbury...where the Ducks live!!
    Ratings:
    +0
    I already have a D-Thearter player with a PJ...just want some more hi def goodness
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Well said you need a 1080i capable display not just a plasma, PJ's and RPTV's can be 1080i capable as can some CRT's (not in uk at the moment).
    But i wonder if the box has an option for 480i/576p etc etc etc or if it just 1080i?
    I have contacted them about some more infor but have had no response, looks like it will be £400+ for box and then a sub on top, i really hope this doesnt make Sky look like good value.
     
  5. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,893
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +84
    587 euros plus vat :eek: for the receiver that has the cam built in.
    You can get standard receivers with CI interfaces for £129. Surely the extra couple of chips that it requires does not justify that kind of price hike. It is not as if this is a new thing and the research and development etc has to be paid for. This is based on established technology.

    If Euro1080 goes belly up then the receiver instantly becomes worth around £50 if you are lucky.

    Second thoughts are springing to mind. It is too much to pay for just a bit of of a novelty.

    Darren
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Thats without the Subscription as well!
     
  7. Boris Blank

    Boris Blank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Outpost 31
    Ratings:
    +211
    Darren's right, someone is making a killing here using already exisiting and cheap technology. Even the very best sat boxes don't cost this much!

    The cheapest option by far is a satellite card - either the Broadlogic or Skystar. Both offer capabilities way beyond these STB's for what, between £20 and £50 max.

    If you already use an HTPC I think its a no-brainer.
    Paul
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    But can they use a CAM like device?
     
  9. Boris Blank

    Boris Blank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Outpost 31
    Ratings:
    +211
    They use a software cam for "educational" purposes ;)

    This is a good site for learning about sat cards, you may have to register (can't remember) but its worth it. Ignore the North America bit and scroll down to the Hardware threads for everything you need to know about the Skystar cards. Site loads slowly.

    http://forums.dvbnetwork.com/index.php?sid=62915888c35207377c29cd0ef07f91e0

    Paul
     
  10. kenji-san

    kenji-san
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hello PaulB,

    You talked about a cheaper alternative than the 587euro expensive stb from quali-tv,namely broadlogic and skystar.
    Are these cards to be used instead of a stb? how does it work?

    I'm totally green to all this sat-tech talk, but I would just like to see euro1080 without the 587 euro tag. How do I do it?

    btw: I will (hopefully) recieve a hdtv capable tv set soon, so it's intended for tv viewing, although I'm able to hook my pc up to the tv via comp signal.

    thanx for any info,
    Kenji-san

    PS: I can't access the site you mention above.
     
  11. Boris Blank

    Boris Blank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Outpost 31
    Ratings:
    +211
    Hi Kenji-San,
    I no longer have my Skystar I'm afraid but if you do a search here in the High Definition forum you'll get all the information you need, (software to use, tips on set-up etc) as most of this has been covered in some detail. ZAndy1's thread below will likely cover the same ground as well so its worth keeping an eye on that one.

    The site I linked to is still working (just checked it) but is slow to load I'm afraid so perhaps give it a bit longer - its worth it.
    Regards,
    Paul
     
  12. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +756
    I just registered with the DVBnetwork forum recommended by Paul. There is some interesting stuff in there - but it takes a bit of patience because the site is so slow.
    They must have a very slow server or slow infrastructure.
    Nevertheless, some useful hints and posts - after reading some of them I couldn't resist posting in there myself.

    Chris Muriel, Manchester.
     
  13. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +29
    JVC's HVxxP37/P38's support 1125i (1080i) and have been available in the UK for several months
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice