1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

quad v bose

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by baldybonce, May 18, 2003.

1. baldybonce

baldybonce

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +38
    :confused: I am very new to the AV world and have had 3 demo's being KEF eggs, QUAD 21-11-C with REL's quake and BOSE Acoustimass 15. I have decided on getting Denon's 3803 but cannot make up my mind on speakers.
    All 3 were impressive but were demo'd in 3 different AV stores so not under the same circumstances.
    Really like the look of the Quad system but I know I shouldn't buy something just on looks.
    Is there anybody out there who can shed some light on these choices???? System will mostly be used for TV and movies, but will be for music too
    :confused: :confused: :confused:

2. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    The Quads are lovely speakers and worthy winners of What Hifi Speakers of the year. I'm not a lover of the REL Quake but feel that the MJ Acoustics Pro 50 is a far better subwoofer.

The KEF eggs have their followers but the sub is supposed to be a weak point and they are reputed to be not so good with music.

You won't find many people to say a good word here about Bose and although they may sound OK in a shop demo I think that you may soon get tired of them at home, especially if you listen to music.

3. CounterWhine

CounterWhine

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +155
    I believe that the sub supplied with KEF's eggs is being updated soon with a more powerful amp. I can't remember where I read that. It may already have happened. Confirmation anyone?

D.

4. baldybonce

baldybonce

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +38
    What reasons are Bose so disliked, they always sound quite impressive.