1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quad or Monitor Audio for Denon 1804 AV receiver?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Nick CY, Aug 11, 2004.

1. Nick CY

Nick CY

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello guys :) I'm new to the world of home cinema and I've decided to build my first system. I think I will probably go for the Denon 1804 as my receiver. A friend of mine has the Quad 22L's and has been raving about them, and he recommends that I also go for Quads for my system. I want to use my system bothe for movies and for music. I have also read great reviews about the Monitor Audio Silver series. If I get the Quads, I will probably choose the 22L's or 12L's for front speakers, the 11L's for the rear, as well as a Quad centre channel. If I get the Monitor Audio Silver series, I will get the S6 towers for the front, S1 for the rears and the LCR centre, and the FB110 sub. Now, my question is, is the Denon receiver best suited for the Quad speakers or for the Monitor Audio's? I have been reading that the Quads require really good quality gear to perform at their best. Also if you have any other speaker combinations that would be more suitable for the 1804 please let me know. Thanks :thumbsup:

2. roversd1

roversd1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quad speakers, they can then benefit from a power amp upgrade later :D

3. Knightshade

Knightshade

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +43
    I don't know how they would perform in a surround package but 22l's and s6's are both excellent speakers.
    Both would benefit from equipment upgrades! I would imagine the MA's would work out slightly cheaper than the Quad package.