Qs about Raydon's Foxsat HDR firmware

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by t78, Feb 20, 2014.

Tags:
  1. t78

    t78
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    hi all,
    I've been trying to read up but I've not found conclusive answers to my situation.

    currently running the setup as attached.

    I use the RPi to stream videos from the media server. am wondering whether applying the f/w update to the Foxsat would allow me to use that to stream instead of the RPi?

    also I have read that after the f/w update I can watch saved programmes from the Foxsat on a tablet using MX Player or similar?

    finally - will applying the f/w update wipe our currently saved programmes?



    thanks for any advice :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,187
    Applying the firmware won't affect your existing recordings.

    Yes you can watch content on an Android tablet (including newly recorded HD if you also install Nowsters patch).

    Note The Foxsat can't be used as a DLNA client. It can be made to stream from a NAS provided the Humax support files are also present.
     
  3. t78

    t78
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    cool. many thanks for the info.


    is it easy to point the Foxsat to a network location and stream from there? (assuming I've added the support files)
     
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,187
    It needs to be a NAS drive and use the appropriate package. This works by fooling the box into thinking the NAS is a locally attached usb device.

    You should really be posting in the custom firmware thread here, which will also answer most questions by reading the thread

    Media & File Server Bundle for the Foxsat HDR - Release 4 - PART 5 | AVForums
     
  5. t78

    t78
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    okey dokes, will look in there.


    thanks for the help :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...