QNAP NAS TS-253D Set Up Query

Cooldy14

Novice Member
Hi
I am new to this forum and am a relative self taught novice with NAS os, computer os and Networking.

BACKGROUND INFO:
I have just bought the QNAP 253D NAS drive after giving up with my two WD MyCloud NAS single drives with them not working properly ever since I bought them some years back, set up as one to act as a server and the other as back up. The share points have never worked properly for me and always conflicted with Windows. After watching many hours of you tube, I decided to go for the QNAP over the Synology, mainly because of its hardware and flexible software and use options.

I have a gigabit hard wired network and wif-fi, netgear 24 port gigabit switch, windows 10 desktop pc with 500GB SDD, Windows 10 laptop and four Users (including me as admin and three with restricted access) with five iPhones, etc all accessing the network and NAS. Also have BT tv, two amazon fire sticks, Xbox one for streaming tv services so currently not bothered too much about media streaming from NAS.

I have installed two Ultrastar 8TB hdd (Set up as RAID 1) and have upgraded my Ddr4 ram to 8G. After looking at various you tube vids and content online, I have installed some Thin volumes with correct bytes per inode setting but am now a bit unsure on the following and want to ensure that I set up my NAS in the best way for quick read and write performance, full access from all devices over the lan network and web, and have a reliable back up systems in place.

1. Whether to set up volumes and access with QFile and map drives to windows explorer from pc and laptop; OR set up ISCSI LUN (Block) for certain volumes for quicker read and write and immediate drive visibility in Windows file explorer (a benefit for the 3 restricted access users who all have very limited IT knowledge).