Q4 2007 LCD HDTV upscaling and V+ Upscaling Question

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by Solid79, Sep 5, 2007.

  1. Solid79

    Solid79
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I currently only have the XL standard TV package but am looking to buy a 40" LCD HDTV this Autumn (Either the Sony X3000, Samsung F86 or Toshiba Z3030)

    Question is will the picture quality benefit from a V+ Set Top Box or will the TV's built in upscalign processes (eg Sony's Bravia EX) be all i need?

    Basically is there any benefit whatsoever of getting a V+ Box for SD feeds to a new HDTV LCD?

    Many thanks in advance

    Solid
     
  2. Parmenion62

    Parmenion62
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    623
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +102
    There is a huge benefit from V+ upscaling on my TV - the picture is much better through HDMI than through RGB scart. I have a 32" screen so I would think with your bigger screen you would notice the difference. It depends on whether the newer TVs have better scalers in them and I suppose the resolution of your LCD screen i.e is it 1080p?
     
  3. meltonboy

    meltonboy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +586
    Hi mate

    I have a 2 year old panny plasma (see below) and there was certainly a difference in SD picture quality when i went for the TVD outputting 720p, especially on newer stuff.

    MB
     
  4. ajnicho

    ajnicho
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yes. I'd have to agree.

    The picture on my 42" Plasma is stunning when connected via HDMI. In comparison, when connected through SCART it was almost unbearable.
     
  5. Solid79

    Solid79
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK Thanks for the heads up.

    So which consumer set top box is widely accepted as the best for VIrgin Media Cable SD services? Is their V+ Box pretty much the only option? Can you get the V+ service without using their own box, and if so which is the reccomended box for SD upscaling via HDMI?
     
  6. maximum

    maximum
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    You can only use Virgin Media boxes to receive their service. I recently tested it with the new Sammy 40F86 and performance is miles better through HDMI than Scart.
     

Share This Page

Loading...