Q for Denon A11 Owners.

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by rosemanbridge, Jul 30, 2004.

  1. rosemanbridge

    rosemanbridge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    How do I switch the subtitles off on an A11? I have a R3 version of "The Others" with Chinese subtitles that cannot be switched off via the DVD's menu. Pressing the subtitle button on the A11 remote doesn't work either. Can anyone advise please?
     
  2. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    Have you tried to turn it off via the discs own menu.

    If not then it could be a sign u need to update your units firmware
     
  3. rosemanbridge

    rosemanbridge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    The discs own menu only states Mandarin or simple Chink, there is no "Off" function. I'll check with Denon re update thanks.
     
  4. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,907
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +14
    If it's your only disc that suffers from this it could be an authoring mistake on the disc of course.
     
  5. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    i only bring up the firmware issue as my A11 did exactly the same thing.(with 1 disc which was matrix reloaded)
    Why not try the disc in a friends DVD player or your computer to see if the issue persists. to rule out the issue above
     
  6. rosemanbridge

    rosemanbridge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've tried it on my Pioneer 767 and the subtitles go off. Does this mean the firmware on the A11 needs updating?
     
  7. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    yes more than likly. for the latest firmware(and hardware fix for the i-link) the unit has to go back to denon.(think its free of charge)
    I would advise sending this disc back with the unit so denon can see the problem for themselves. This way your sure to get a fix.

    Ring denon uk at Haden labs to sort it all out.

    My problem went away with the updated firmware.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice