Q Acoustics 7000i Subwoofer advice - newbie help!!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by WillSwan, Jun 10, 2015.

1. WillSwan

WillSwan
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys,

Firstly, I am new to the forum, and this is my first post - so hello! Hopefully you can help with your experiences/advice - and to clarify although really enjoy quality cinema surround sound, I am not an expert in sub placement, crossover set ups and so on, I am a novice basically!

My question is about subwoofer advice.... i'll start with my set up:

* Denon AVR X2000 Amp

* Q Acoustics 7000i 5.1 system

* Good quality Cambridge Audio wiring - so I was advised. And good quality 3D 4k compatible HDMI cables etc.

* Media - Sky HD and Xbox One (gaming and BluRay)

System was purchased from Richer Sounds (not the HDMIs) a while back, summer last year.

I am not sure on your thoughts on the Q Acoustics 7000i system (?) but I am really impressed with it, imo brilliant quality, crystal clear, no issues with it at all.

However - while I think the subwoofer is good, part of me feels it lacks a certain punch (i know i wont recreate a cinema bass experience, but a bit more 'cinema like' would be nice) and it sounds like it struggles a bit with some bass frequencies, and I am wondering if this is because it is just an 8" sub?? Would anyone have any thoughts on this?

If i were to sell the sub and buy a larger sub - 10" or 12" (ideally for £600 budget) would this make a difference - in your opinions? And would there be any compatibility issues with pairing the sub with the Q7000i speakers? Would anyone have any recommendations?