1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PWD7 problem

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Pufz, Oct 20, 2005.

  1. Pufz

    Pufz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +3
    I bought my panel about a month ago but only got it fired up about 4 days ago.. still in it`s box though.

    I`m a bit concerned with a dark bar, which goes across the full width of the screen, about an inch wide, at the top of the screen.

    I`ve only had the screen on for about 8-10 hrs in all.

    I`ve taken all the advice given and turned the contrast down to -25 and been running in a full screen mode.

    It is very noticeable when the panel is switched off.

    The bar is much darker than the rest of the screen.

    Any help or advice would be much appreciated.
     
  2. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    Check how many hours are on the screen,

    Hold on a mo and I'll get the instructions for how to do this
     
  3. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    here you go,

    "hold down both vol buttons on the fromt of the screen and then keep pressing the button under the on/off on the remote until it appears"

    There will be numbers for WT (watched hours) and PT (number of times turned on).
     
  4. Pufz

    Pufz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just checked.. 16hrs in total
     
  5. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +472
    actually I think its the other way round PT= hours
     
  6. Pufz

    Pufz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +3
    one says 16, the other says 17.
     
  7. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +472
    well its a new screen anyway so your dark bar is most unusual and I would contact your supplier
     
  8. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just testing, honest :rolleyes: I must check mine to see if I can take it out of running in settings :D
     
  9. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +472
    :) the 'w' is just to fool you
     
  10. Pufz

    Pufz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +3
    thanks mep.
     
  11. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think I can, WT=741 PT=2433 so that must be power on of 2433 hours

    I'd definately get on to the supplier about the dark bar
     
  12. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +472
    i think you'll be safe now :)
     
  13. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    Mep, how much better would you say the PHD8 is than the PWD7 when viewing Sky?
     
  14. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +472
    I wouldn't say it was any better at all to be honest vileda
     
  15. dickst3

    dickst3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    You're not talking about the border that goes right around the screen on the Pannies? I only ask 'cause you see it with the panel swicthed off! :eek:

    Bit of a cheek that they have the border as it reduces screen size! :mad:
     
  16. Pufz

    Pufz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +3
    No.. definitely not the screen surround.

    It`s only across the top of the screen.

    Does the screen go lighter in appearance as it is run in at all ??
     
  17. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    Ring the dealer NOW and tell them that it's been faulty since you got it, they will be able to verify the number of hours on it and the only way you could have done this would to have put a static white screen on the bottom 90% of the screen which is not likely.

    You may find that the display evens up over time but do you want to tak e the risk, get dialling and get them to check it out.

    P.S. it's an excellent screen so I hope you get it sorted.
     
  18. Pufz

    Pufz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +3
    i`ve spoken to the retailer who have contacted Panasonic.

    Because it`s over 28 days old it might have to be sent back for repair rather than an exchange panel - which I don`t want.

    Waiting to see what Panasonic say now.
     
  19. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    I shouldn't think they'd be able to fix it anyway, possibly replace nearly everything apart from the Bezel but not repair it.

    When they take it away I hope they leave you a replacement to watch.
     
  20. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry, missed this bit, It could be the proctive layer de-laminating (think that's the term) in which case they should just give you a new one. Did they offer to come and inspect it before taking it away?
     
  21. Pufz

    Pufz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +3
    The retailer has just got back to me saying they were trying to get hold of Panasonic all afternoon and have only just discovered that they have moved locations.. :mad:

    They can`t get hold of them now until Monday.

    The screen hasn`t been taken away.. yet

    Apparently somebody will come and look at it and we will go from there.

    Wait and see time..

    Hopefully will just replace it with a new one.
     

Share This Page

Loading...