1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pwd6 and dvi

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by john R1, Aug 25, 2005.

  1. john R1

    john R1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    read somewhere 6 series pannys can accept dvi board is this correct ? has anybody compared it to component and if so is there much differance when using a good quality dvd player
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Yes you can do this, but Pannys are so good on analogue inputs there is little to be gained. They tend to be a little fussy about inputs too. 576p is accepted, but not from every DVD player.
     
  3. Peabo

    Peabo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    you get more shades of gradiation though, right? Will it be noticable in dark scenes for example? (not that I have any complaints)
     
  4. john R1

    john R1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    peabo are you saying then dvi is no better than a good dvd player fed through good component leads ? i thought dvi was as good as hdmi or am i missing something
     
  5. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,700
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +607
    But also more noise. :(

    Listen to MAW, the analogue inputs are awesome and will take all resolutions and refresh rates.
     
  6. john R1

    john R1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    was only asking was thinking about changing my dv-89 for the 3910 mainly for the sacd fuction but i think ill stick with what ive got thanks for the replys
     
  7. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,700
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +607

Share This Page

Loading...