1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PW7 picture quality

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by c_fletcher, Mar 2, 2005.

  1. c_fletcher

    c_fletcher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As a complete newbie to all this please be kind with your reponses to a numpty question that has probably been answered before.

    Just taken delivery of a PW7 and tuner package from AV Sales, well pleased with the picture from DVD but TV from SKY digi box is hit and miss, particularly skin rendition on faces, unless close up. My question is: Would the TV picture quality be improved by ditching the tuner (as most seem to be doing) and connecting direct to the 15pin connector with appropriate cables, or is there a better connection method, ie alternative boards

    Any advice would be very welcome

    ps Anyone iterested in my tuner???
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    is Sky set to RGB output?
     
  3. c_fletcher

    c_fletcher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    it certainly is. I am passing the signal through the DVD player to keep things simple swithing wise for my wife and kids. Could that be the problem? Would it be better to use the other RGB scart input on the tuner? Am not using terestrial TV on the tuner itself

    Also the tuner seems to have disabled all the plasmas setup options which is quite annoying, I can only adjust basic picture options via the tuner remote. is this normal?
     
  4. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +533
    Im using the other RGB scart socket on the media box and get a great picture from sky.

    Have the screen set to cinema and then the brightness in the sky setup to High.

    What sort of RGB cables are you running.

    Dal
     
  5. c_fletcher

    c_fletcher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Dal.

    Cables are QED P2105 sqart (0.5metre) fully wired.

    The main problem is faces, they look kind of painted if you have a full body shot, when zoomed in they are miles better. Havent done the 200hours "running in" yet so am reluctant to play around too much with extra brightness and contrast, did turn the sky box back to low seeting though,,,,,a mistake?
     
  6. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +533
    I have only had my PW7 a week so im running mine in to - ;0).

    I have found that setting the skybox and PW7 to RGB then selecting the cinema mode on the plasma and then high brightness in the Sky menu has given me a fantastic picture.

    Im so impressed with the output that even when i have done the 200 hours ill be leaving it as is.

    Give it a go fella, and let us know

    Dal


    Also give the Sky box its own scart connection in AV4 and see if it makes a difference then through your DVD player
     
  7. tutin

    tutin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I could be interested in your tuner... model / price ?
     
  8. c_fletcher

    c_fletcher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dal, thanks again.

    Sky set to RGB, havent set the tuner though, just assumed that the inputs labelled RGB would be automatically set. If they arent then I am not set for RGB on the screen, as I said I have no plasma set up options from the screen handset, can only use setup via the tuner, are you the same?

    Chris

    setup is Sony DVPN400, Pan 7W, Sky digi box, Sony 475 av amp and Sony 535 surround speakers
     
  9. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +533
    Yes m8 am the same. All options come from tuner box.

    when i select an AV source buy pressing the AV button it comes up on the top left saying AV1 RGB

    I have setup my mediabox as follows -

    AV1 - Sony DVD player RGB
    AV4 - Sky Digibox RGB

    AV out from mediabox into my Amp.

    nice and simple.

    Have you made the change to your Sky box to high Contrast???

    What do u think of the quality.

    u can also use your Sky remote to select AV sources from your mediabox and take the plasma and mediabox in and out of standby.

    I dont actually use the mediabox remote anymore. just the Sky remote and my Amp one.

    Dal

    Dal
     
  10. c_fletcher

    c_fletcher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will try your suggestions and feedback on results, had changed the sky box contrast to low so will set it back to high (as was for my Sony wega 28")

    still wouldnt mind some advice from anyone else on using direct connection to the d connector as opposed to the panny tuner, will it make a difference?
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    yes VIA JS box picture will be sharper and cleaner
     
  12. c_fletcher

    c_fletcher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Horndragon.

    Looks like its the JS box for me then. The Tuner package form AV Sales was still a good deal I think but need to improve the picture
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    was a very good deal flog tuner for £200 and jobs a good un!
     
  14. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +533
    i always had it set to high even on my 32" Wega screen.

    Let us know what u think.

    Dal
     
  15. c_fletcher

    c_fletcher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok guys thanks for the advice, watching DVD tonight and picture is fantastic, set contrast back to high on sky box and used seperate connection to AV4, still not 100% happy with picture, its better but maybe I`m expecting too much after a Sony CRT. Will order JS box soon. Would take anything from 150 to 200 for tuner, its only 2 days old, maybe ebay or someone on here will be interested
     
  16. The Valyard

    The Valyard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just got my PWD6 on Saturday, and have been finding it a cow to get the best settings.

    setting the Sky (Sky +) to high works a treat, any suggestions on 'solarization' from my DVD onto the Panny?

    I'm getting very bad solarisation through my DVD player and Panny PWD6

    Very noticable on white/beige/grey/areas (watching Next Gen Trek movies is V painful with all their beige interiors!! - I know it's my own fault for watching Trek!)

    I'm running a Pioneer 575 thru good (Thor) cables into the supplied (Richer Sounds) SCART input board.

    When I bought it Richer Sounds supposedly took the input board out of another Plasma (JVC I Think) and gave it to me sans screws (For £50.00 though)

    Could this be making the problem worse?

    Any clever settings suggestions?

    I've just ordered the 'Video Essentials DVD"

    Thanks in advance for your sage advice

    The Valyard
     
  17. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +533
    it took me a few days to get used to the picture of the PW7 compared to my Sony Wega CRT.

    I used to have everything up so bright that at first i was not sure. now im used to the picture im happy with the output.

    Dal
     
  18. stevelup

    stevelup
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,125
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +838
    The Valyard,

    The VGA socket on the PWD6 can take component video. All you need is a VGA to 3 x Phono cable.

    I'd recommend trying to run your DVD player through that input - see if it helps.

    Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...