1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PW7 overly white

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by clarky78, Oct 28, 2005.

  1. clarky78

    clarky78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,831
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    Sorted my Girlfriends parents out with a 37" PWD7 and other bits and they're really chuffed except for this one thing. It's too bright, you just can't change it, i played with everything i could find, but if theres anything white on the screen it just bleaches out the rest of the surrounding screen. It's actually pretty damn annoying, we were watching rock school, and when the white shirts or the sky was in shot, you couldnt see outlines or anything. Imagine a white shirt, you can't see the creases and shades, it's just a huge white blob. Someone please offer some advice on how to solve this.

    thanks
     
  2. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +137
    what settings are you using at the moment.
     
  3. ukdan

    ukdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +81
    Take it out of dynamic mode and select cinema.
    Turn down contrast/brightness to below 50%.
    Run plasma for approx. 200 hours then get someone to isf calibrate it.
     
  4. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +228
    clarky78,

    Agree fully with UKDAN. If whites are washed out to the extent that you are suggesting then contrast is way too high. The "picture mode" loads up default contrast settings - go for natural or cinema and be prepared to reduce contrast even so.
     
  5. clarky78

    clarky78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,831
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    I dont remember the exact settings but i could turn the brightness down to minimum and it had very little effect at all. contrast is at around half. The tv has had 200 hours use by now, and is in cinema mode, but i doubt very much they will commit to an ISF. Can someone just recommend some settings that work that i can use as a base, because i seriously cant do anything with it.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    no offence but thats where the "pros" come in... what is connected and how?
     
  7. clarky78

    clarky78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,831
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    i'll have to check, i can't remember the model numbers. It's a Pana s27 dvd or something, a sagem set top box, both linked through a daewoo switching box to the panel via VGA.
    In hindsight i'm wondering if the daewoo box has a brightness control which could be causing problems, as no matter how much i reduce the contrast and brightness on the screen the whites are blurry and washed out.

    I except a 'Pro' could set it up better, if for no other reason than because he'll have equipment to configure it, but they won't pay for it so no point me suggesting it. I will however oneday justify getting someone to do mine...
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    what are you using to get scart (hopefuly RGB) into the VGA input? and yes it may well have brghtness control in the STB (i hope to god your not using the "plasma Tuner box" Richer sounds supply made by daewoo are you? if so thats the problem it is in one word a "Stinking Heap Intorreable Trash" rubbish
     
  9. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +137
    i agree with HornyDragon about the tuner box. getting rid of it was the best thing i ever did. my picture also improved when i got rid of my scart switcher.
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    and coombes didnt you have the official panny tner box? not a cheap ass korean knock off?
     
  11. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +228
    clarky79,

    I am not trying to sell my services - honestly (Rule 7 etc wouldn't allow that anyway) - just trying to help. Washed out whites have nothing much to do with brightness - it is contrast that you need to be thinking about, though having read further it seems you have tried that as well. Tuner box strikes again?
     
  12. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +137
    yes mine was the panasonic. i didnt realise rs ws doing a cheaper one
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    i think clarky has the daewoo tuner box which is outed by RS and is useless i have seen this before on the forum RS push it as the only way to use a panel as a TV (rubbish) and it knobbles PQ more than the panny unit
     
  14. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +783
    Have you tried adjustin the input level in the advanced menu under picture settings??
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    if it is the daewoo tuner giz thats the issue adjustment may help but its only going to mask the problem its the tuner thats the problem and it needs to be sorted (ie scrapped)
     
  16. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +783
    Subtle, but to the point, I like! ;)
     
  17. clarky78

    clarky78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,831
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    OK, yes it is unfortunately the deawoo switching box (its not a tuner), we purchased this because it was cheaper than buying a board for the plasma and using that through the amp for video switching (though i would have prefered to do that myself)...

    So you really believe this switcher is causing the issue? all it does is send whichever signal too the VGA. And yes the STB and DVD are both using RGB scart.

    I am thinking it might be an outside influence i.e a setting in either the STB or daewoo thing thats causing the problem. I havent watched a DVD there to see if that suffers from the same problem but if it doesn't surely then it can't be the daewoo box and must be the STB. I guess i'll have to go there and investigate further...
     

Share This Page

Loading...