1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PW7 Help please

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by don-tucker, Oct 19, 2005.

  1. don-tucker

    don-tucker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Right where do I start,the top and bottom of it is I have blown something inside the panel by connecting speakers to the connections on the back of the panel,there was this puff of smoke and I thought that was the end but lucky for me the picture is still great and sound is ok though an amp.What I'm asking is,would it be the panel amp module only thats gone and could I buy a new one and connect it in myself?Although things are OK if ever I came to sell it I'm sure they would like to be able to use the speaker connections.
    Hope someone out there can help.
    Don
     
  2. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +471
    Is it still under warranty?
     
  3. don-tucker

    don-tucker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes mep,but when I inquired I would have to take it in and be without a telly for god knows how long as I was told if you "buy at internet prices I would get internet service.",and really speaking it wasn't a fault ,I did it.
    Don
     
  4. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +471
    but you only connected speakers?
     
  5. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    but not quite in the correct way, perhaps ;)
     
  6. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +471
    :D do you know something I don't (apart from all the obvious things :) )
     
  7. don-tucker

    don-tucker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    All right I'll come clean,I connected speakers and the amp together,ok untill I used them both together,I know that's stupid but that's what i did.Please be easy on me.
    Don
     
  8. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    OK you've lost me. Wire from the speaker terminals on the back of the panel to an external amp???
     
  9. don-tucker

    don-tucker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes,my idea was to be able to use either as long as I muted the panel speakers,once I had done it I realised how stupid it was.Is it a seperate PCB that can be replaced?or is there more to it?
    Don
     
  10. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    2 wires out of each panel speaker terminal - 1 pair to speakers, 1 pair to the external amp??
     
  11. don-tucker

    don-tucker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yep
     
  12. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Aargh!

    Bad news - suspect that the amp in the panel is beyond repair, and very lucky that your external amp is still alive.

    I wouldn't try a DIY repair. Bite the bullet and when you come to sell be very honest - many buyers won't need the internal amp as they will be using an external one. Just don't try to claim that it is immaculate.
     
  13. SteveG

    SteveG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +87
    As Piers says, I bet the majority of panel buyers wont need the internal amp. If it's any consolation, I had exactly the same idea as you. It seemed so obvious a solution to a basic problem that I started to doubt myself and never connected it up.
     
  14. don-tucker

    don-tucker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Piers,this is what I had in mind to do but hoped I could redeem myself a little bit.
    Thank you all.
    Don
     
  15. ukdan

    ukdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +84
    For the benefit of others reading this, it is possible to do this inexpensively by using a speaker switch.( connecting plasma internal audio amp and an external amp to one pair of speakers)
    Maplins do a cheap one....
     

Share This Page

Loading...