1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PW7 Component Boards?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by turfmonkey, Jan 22, 2005.

  1. turfmonkey

    turfmonkey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to create a new thread but my Panasonic TH42PW7 is coming tomorrow and I still havent resolved what board I need. it comes with a scart as standard but for my set up I think I need a TY-42TM6V Composite/S-Video board. My setup will have a Yamaha Amp with Video Switching, Sky + and a DVD. With this setup i was hoping to run the 3 core composite cable from the plasma to the amp and switch input device to the plasma from the amp - is this possible or is there a better solution.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    try a search mate i think you mean component.....will need a component board.....(good luck)
     
  3. Peabo

    Peabo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. turfmonkey

    turfmonkey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. tamthetim

    tamthetim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Perth
    Ratings:
    +6
    second option........component.

    how are you connecting up the sky+ though - scart obviously...doh

    cheers, tam
     
  6. tamthetim

    tamthetim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Perth
    Ratings:
    +6
  7. Sparkster101

    Sparkster101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +4
    Component is much better quality although you need to make sure you have something that can send a signal as component to the plasma. Do a search of this site as theres loads of information on this subject.
     
  8. rizingdamp

    rizingdamp
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    When Horney replys with "Good Luck" what he maens with regard the PW7 component video board is simply that there are a distinct lack of them in the country!!

    I myself have contacted Panasonic UK and thier response is ....."not sure when they will be available"
     
  9. Sparkster101

    Sparkster101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +4
    You can get the dual boards though, not sure what the compromise is apart from board space.
     
  10. turfmonkey

    turfmonkey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I havent got the amp yet, but will be getting this week, the plasma arrived today. My initial thoughts based on what I have read about the Yamaha RXV650RDS amp is that I would use it basically as a hub to switch between input devices and the amp would output video to the plasma and sound to my 5.1 speakers. this is what I wanted to do but was unsure of the feasibility but thought the solution would be the component card. I have a scart board that came with the screen but didnt think of it as an option - can you advise if this is sensible or am I misguided.......bit of a novice really! :clown:
     
  11. dempsey

    dempsey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    End of Feb as far as I have heard.
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    no loss of quality on component using dual board (get an S-video/composite input as well)
     
  13. d0mj4y

    d0mj4y
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +1
    According to what I've heard from Panasonic, a container full of them sank as they were being shipped over here.
     

Share This Page

Loading...