1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PW6 - Strange banding when using as PC monitor

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Mr THX, Jan 13, 2004.

  1. Mr THX

    Mr THX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +31
    Hi
    Came across this quirk whilst I've been setting up my HCPC.

    Only noticable when viewing text based doc's ... eg .. this thread or a Word document. I can see a bluring of the text which appears to run in vertical bands about five inches wide, these run fully from top to bottom. If a full page of text is shown as a test (Black characters on White screen) the text appear to slightly darken at these points ????

    Display settings are 848x480 (through Powerstrip) from a Radeon 9800pro > VGA to VGA.

    Has anyone else come across this ???
     
  2. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Never noticed this on my panny mate...but I run mine at 1366 x 768 also via PowerStrip.

    Cheers, Lee
     
  3. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    You may be having an earthing problem. If all the power leads are running through a series of multipliers try removing all of those and just plugging the plasma and HCPC directly into wall sockets. (had similar probs at my dad's and ended up getting a sparky to run a new set of sockets for the AV gear)

    HTH
     
  4. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    Have you adjusted the pixel clock?

    clk phase I think it is on the panny.
    There are test patterns out there to help. A nokia one and Mark Rehjohn 's one.
     
  5. FaxFan2002

    FaxFan2002
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,114
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +109
    could be a driver problem on you pc - have you got the latest and greatest video drivers on your pc?
     

Share This Page

Loading...