1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pw6 questions

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by GCDB, Nov 5, 2004.

  1. GCDB

    GCDB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wrexham
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi all.
    Just a few daft questions.
    If i was considering the pw6,i gather it comes with a vga connection as standard?
    At present i have bought the pioneer 575 dvd player,celestion avp 305 speakers and yamaha dsp 750 amp. I have a standard sky box(Thomson) and a JVC video player.
    I was planning on running everthing through the amp to display. So firstly i would need a js rgb to component convertor(linking the sky box to video player via scart). Would this work so i only have to buy one convertor? then the converted signal into amp along with component from dvd player.Then from amp to screen. Reasons for this is less cables going to screen.Would i lose auto aspect ratio?
    Would the scart rgb to component be as good as the scart rgb to vga which most opt for?
    Does av sales have several shops as i live in North wales?
    Has the pw6 stopped being manufactured and are the likes of av sales just selling their stock off, so if i was considering the pw6 would i have to buy soon?
    Lastly, what does the x stand for in the pw6?
     
  2. GCDB

    GCDB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wrexham
    Ratings:
    +2
    No one wants to talk to me, hope its not a welsh thing!
     
  3. swarrans

    swarrans
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess your questions are very similar to others, so you could probably find the answers by searching..
    However, some answers are...
    AV Sales based in Kent, but will ship anywhere.
    I would daisy chain your DVD player and Sky box together then use a JS RGB to component converter into the amp, and a component to VGA cable to the std VGA port on the plasma. I do this with my set up and it's wonderful.
    Assuming your Yammy can upconvert composite from your VCR to component, then that's the easiest way of connecting that.
    Yes, I would say you would need to buy a PW6 soon as it's already been replaced by the PW7.

    Simon
     
  4. Ivon

    Ivon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dont know how much of an improvement you would get by using JS to convert your inputs to Component and then get it into the Yamaha 750.

    The Yamaha 750 is capable of upconversion so you could throw pretty much anything at it and have it upconvert into Component.
     
  5. swarrans

    swarrans
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    But you can't send it RGB and get it to convert that can you?...(hence why I suggested a JS converter)

    Simon
     
  6. Ivon

    Ivon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well my understanding is that you could. That is the whole idea of going for the Yamaha 750 or the Denon 2805. They upconvert !
     
  7. swarrans

    swarrans
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    They upconvert composite or S Video to component, not RGB (well, at least the Denon can't cos I've got one!). The question is, unless the Yammy has scart inputs, how would you send it the RGB signal?

    Simon
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I dont think this will work as VCR wont output RGB however if VCR has 2 scarts connect the second VCR scart via a scart to 3 phono lead to a composite input on amp and let amp upscale to YUV
    see this thread for some more help and everything you ever wanted to know about PW6 connectivity: http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=154292&highlight=beginner
    PS I am wales but be patient with 2000 people asking the same thing every month it takes me a while to get around to it...
     
  9. GCDB

    GCDB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wrexham
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for replying.
    If i daisy chain the dvd and sky together will i not lose pq as sky second scart is not rgb?
    Also why convert to vga when i could get the component board for the p6.
    The amp does not convert scart by the way.
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    RGB>VGA is not conversion so no loss of quaility RGB>YUV can loose quality..... also RGB>VGHA box is cheaper: http://www.av-sales.co.uk/html/convertors.html plasma has VGA socket on it AMP has limited YUV inputs.... DVD should RUN YUV, so should XBOX/PS2/GC and more and more equipment will output component so as Sky is S-Video or RGB you need to decide whether RGB>VGA or S-video> YUV looks better........ In my opion RGB>VGA is a bit crisper
     
  11. GCDB

    GCDB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wrexham
    Ratings:
    +2
    ok,
    will re think the rgb to component but thanks all for giving me some ideas.
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    2nd scart wont output RGB but will passthrough am RGB signal
     
  13. swarrans

    swarrans
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wasn't suggesting the VCR outputted RGB Horny, as I know none of them do - I meant just connect the VCR to the composite in on the amp and let it upconvert to component out - this way you don't need any boards for the PW6 (therefore it costs £1500 :D ) - I was proposing daisy chaining the DVD player and Sky box, not VCR. In summary, this is what you have also suggested but perhaps you explained it better!
    This does not in any way suggest that I want to take over your role of answering the 100's of enquiries!

    Simon
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    AND WHY NOT???
    No worries i do get confused you know...
     

Share This Page

Loading...