1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PW6, PWD6 only color difference os some electronic parts inside?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Alex., Sep 7, 2004.

  1. Alex.

    Alex.
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    1. I've seen that the price for PWD6 is _150 more than for PW6 by the same retailer,
    where I'm going to buy. On my question they have answered (after taking some time for
    consultancy) that not only the color is different, but also some electronics inside,
    actually the same circuit, but could be some parts with better characteristics, that
    can result in some picture parameters, especially during fast motions (probably not
    for every eye noticable, but still..)

    Does anybody know something about that?

    It didn't look like intention to sell me more expensive model, as the question arised
    actually from my side at the last moment before ordering.

    2. Additional question: where are panny plasmas produced/assembled. In which countries
    are the plants? In one of the shop in Austria I was told, that PA30 they had was from
    Chezh republic. I didn't like the color of that as it was too blue/green, where it had to
    be black, and more noise compared to SONY P42M1, standing near by. I was trying
    with cable TV, as I could hardly see these differences with DVD stuff.
     
  2. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    there is more black stock around, so they are pricing them cheaper
    in an attempt to shift them before the PW7 comes out. The silvers
    are in shorter supply, so sligtly smaller discounts on them.
    (black £1699 at richersounds (no board), silver £1898 at digital-point (scart board))
    that's only £50 differencee if you take the scart board into account.
     
  3. Loftus

    Loftus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The cusumer models (siver bezel) lack an "advanced settings" page in the picture properties setup.
     
  4. Alex.

    Alex.
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    > The cusumer models (siver bezel) lack an "advanced settings" page in the picture properties setup.
    Really so? Not very good. I saw this option in PA30 when connected via VGA and it was possible to make some color adjustments on that page. Does PW6 have this possibility without "advanced" page?
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    PA30 is european analogue tuner model, PE30 is UK Digital/analogue dual tuner model, PWB6 is UK Consumer panel,PWD is UK commercial panel PHD6 is UK Hi Def Panel (black only) PW7 is due by end of month some units due sooner in UK.


    However if the HDMI input is not essential or desired, then i would reconmend the Fujitsu 42VHA31 Panel same glass as panny but Better electronics and Warranty in UK or the Pioneer 434HDE Hi DEF set for HDMI and Tuner.
    As i am in the UK i can only comment on UK units, A lot of PAnny are built in Czech Republic and all Veira models are.... (for units supplied to UK)
     
  6. fuji

    fuji
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hornydragon, interested in buying a Fujitsu, where are the Fujitsu's made?, over here or in Japan? :)
     
  7. zedzed

    zedzed
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    Fujitsus are also more expensive than the PW6. You pay your money, you take your choice .......

    ZedZed
     
  8. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,471
    Alex.

    PWD6 (Charcoal) vs. PW6B (Silver) - I'd ask your 'advisor' which parts he/she believes have 'better characterises' in the PW6B and how they affect the picture quality :)

    Other than the colour of the Bezel and the software options mentioned there is little if anything to choose between these units - here in the UK the PWD6 (Charcoal) is normally less expensive than the PW6B (Silver); though the Silver is mostly sold inc a SCART board.

    Panasonic have a few production/assembly plants dotted around - see http://matsu****a.co.jp/corp/news/official.data/data.dir/en040518-3/en040518-3.html

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  9. NAH

    NAH
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a 50" PHW and can assure you that it has the advanced settings page .

    Neil
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Fujitsu IIRC come out of Malaysia??? Depends on the model They have IMPO beter PQ and better warranty. No Digital connection:( yet......... and give a nice solid performance. HHA are a lot more money and excellent with S-video and interlaced component Video signals
     
  11. Alex.

    Alex.
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Joe Fernand

    Thanks. Only as an idea..
    Commercial model is intended to be used normally more intensively, than consumer,
    as it is to be installed in shops, other public places, enterprises, etc. So, theoretically,
    it has sence to put there more reliable components. Don't read it like consumer means
    not reliable, just assume that commercial can have some of the parts a bit better. This
    is just an idea. Actually, I have ordered already the silver one. We'll see how it works ;)

    Alex
     
  12. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    commercial, also means no bad pixels as these are only allowed
    in domestic products under the ISO agreement
     
  13. TimW

    TimW
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't think commercial models count for that, think it's just places like hospitals, military etc, everything else is still allowed them, someone posted a thread about it a while back (http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=146986).

    There was a another thread on here discussing this a while back and someone posted the commercial ones may have higher emissions (http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=141614).

    Silver 42" one also appears to have the advanced options on the picture properties settings, well either it does or I'm on acid and just imagined it:)

    But I don't know which is true, I'm happy with what I have so far:) just htought I'd post some links to previous discussions on the subject, hope it helps!.
     
  14. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    according to the ISO (International Standards Organisation) white paper
    Commercial digital screens are assumed to be Class 1 devices (0 bad pixels)
    Domenstic digital screens are assumed to be Class 2 devices (upto 9 bad pixels in total)

    Unless a different class is specified in the advert at the shop/online store at time of purchase.
    That seems pretty clear to me, and if the shop claims different, they get to lose in the small claims court.
     
  15. TimW

    TimW
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hadn't actually seen anywhere that automatically assumes commercial screens to be class 1, the only thing I could find was the following:

    "Most if not all LCD monitors for commercial use fit in class 2, class 1 is for military, hospital or other critical applications".

    I know these are plasma screens but they still fall under the same ISO that was originally done for LCDs?

    If the commercial versions were class 1 with no defects allowed wouldn't the retailers like av sales and others on here always push for a sale of them? as then there would be few if any return problems with screen faults and no problems with the manufacturer when replacements were needed?

    I don't claim to know everything about plasma, in fact I know very little, just seems odd to me that they would be in the same class as military or hospital equipment, as most commercial use could hardly be classed as critical applications.

    :)
     
  16. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    I worked in broadcast TV for years and never realised you could get
    Plasmas' with bad pixels, cos the screens delivered to our studios
    were always perfect. Funny that, but then we did buy them by the wagon load
    & if we had found a bad pixel they would have never sold us another.
    Has anyone here ever purchased a panny with any bad pixels, and did you accept it??
     
  17. TimW

    TimW
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Some places will do a dead pixel check before selling them to you if they can. You can always do the check yourself when you get them if delivered, as you have 7 days to get a refund without giving a reason as such (distance selling regulations).
    I think most dead pixels don't start off life dead, they just just die for no apparent reason, I have 1 pixel on my tft monitor that is always white when it's turned on, this has only happened recently after owning it for a year and a half, and to be honest I only notice it on the boot up black screen so it doesn't bother me much.

    I have seen reports on here of people suffering from dead pixels, but no mention of dead pixels when they first turned the screens on, and various other problems not directly related the screen itself.

    I doubt many manufacturers try to sell things slightly defective before they've even been used:)
     
  18. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    Being paranoid as hell, I'm always a bit wary of that "pixel check offer"
    Some suppliers would see that as an opportunity to send you
    a "second hand" screen, that someone else had rejected.
    (We only opened it to check the screen.....honest.....We promise)

    "I doubt many manufacturers try to sell things slightly defective before they've even been used"
    We don't get the chance to buy from the manufacturers tho, and it's the retailers that deliver the boxes, and I know they repack faulty and returned goods. The 7 day return clause has guaranteed that. What do you think they do with all those returns?
     
  19. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    SEll them cheap as repacks or Grade "A" stock which is where a lot of retailers get there "amazingly" cheap stock
     
  20. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,471
    pjclark1

    If your really paranoid you'll find most Display models have hour meters and on/off counters.

    As Horny says rejected Displays get sold on via companies that specialise in finding homes in less 'critical' installations.

    You guys have it better than us retailers as we have to sign up to 'accept' not perfect screens delivered to us are deemed 'acceptable' by the manufacturer and no returns unless negotiated on a screen by screen basis.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  21. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6

    The 5 plasma's I've bought from Panasonic are all Made in Japan.
     
  22. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    THe Veira range are built in Czech, not sure if the panels are or they Just assemble the TV side of the units, I thought that upto PW4 they were all built in japan i thought PW6 were malaysian built. Doesnt mattter that much really as Matsuh1ta have plants all over the world knockingstuff out.
     
  23. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Most current pannys say 'made in spain' on them, and BTW Horny, the VHA31 is samsung glass, buy a cheap VHA30 instead.
     
  24. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Interesting hadnt sold any 31 still using 30's but i wondered what the difference was
     
  25. Brian@ThePark

    Brian@ThePark
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    PW6 delivered last week. It says "MADE IN CHINA" ON THE BOX!
     
  26. Leigh_1973

    Leigh_1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thats just the box ;)
     
  27. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Very witty, yes I have seen this too, in fact on my very 1st batch of PW6. All my recent ones have said made in spain, some PWD stock says made on japan, some in China. I think PW5's were made in Japan, but apart from the label it's impossible to say where they are from when you get your mitts on them. They really are all the same.
     

Share This Page

Loading...