1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pw6 gaming,pc etc

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by GCDB, Apr 14, 2005.

  1. GCDB

    GCDB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wrexham
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,
    Just a query, in the near future(when funds recover) i might decide to get a 2nd hand xbox or ps2.The pw6 i bought has at present has no extra boards and the only easy input option on my amp dsp750 yam is the s-video.Does gaming look good through this (upconvert to yuv in amp) and does anyone else play their console through s vid on a 42" plasma?
    Or should i look at trying to get an extra input on plasma eg an extra vga terminal?
     
  2. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    you could always get a scart splitter so you don't need another input board.
     
  3. GCDB

    GCDB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wrexham
    Ratings:
    +2
    I could daisy through the sky box but is scart the most common connection for games consoles? Or would svid just be as good?
     
  4. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    i think rgb scart is better but svid is not bad..dpends how fussy you are :)
     
  5. JohnCCFC

    JohnCCFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
  6. tobyjuggler

    tobyjuggler
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is the softmod actually needed to get component output from the Xbox, or is it just for hidef? 've just ordered the the hi-def pack from liksang
     
  7. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    for hi def (soft mod)
     
  8. JohnCCFC

    JohnCCFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    Both possibly. The cable is not available officially here (UK). Soft-modding allows the xbox to output 480p (and up - depending on game itself) but only on component cable out.
    Toby, you're as bad as me, why aren't you working? :D
     
  9. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    i mustget round to doing that soft mod John.....I'm too lazy
     
  10. JohnCCFC

    JohnCCFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    Really you must. SUCH good quality. If you have the correct Splinter Cell, a maxdrive, and the correct save (with built in region switcher), it takes about 5-10 minutes max.
     
  11. tobyjuggler

    tobyjuggler
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well, I've ordered the hidef cable pack from liksang, gonna need to get the other stuff now for the xbox to do the mod.

    I'm not at work today :hiya: (shiftworker) and am just avoiding mowing the lawns!!.
     
  12. JohnCCFC

    JohnCCFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    Incidentally, I got my cable from whitedog.co.uk, same price, arrived next day.

    edit : Also maxdrive from there, and orig SC from my local GAME store. Must get the correct version !!
     
  13. tobyjuggler

    tobyjuggler
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well, it's going to take me a while to get the other stuff, so there's no rush.
     

Share This Page

Loading...