PW6 connections

nicklang

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm most likely going to buy a Pannasonic TH-42PWD6 from AV-Sales for £1850 with a free terminal board. However as a complete newbie to plasma I was looking for some advice on what to buy to connect my sources to the plasma. I want to connect the following:

-SONY DVD with a RGB scart and S-Video out (no composite out and it's not progressive scan)
-VHS recorder with ordinary scart out
-Freeview box with ordinary scart out (also has a serial port on the back, don't know what thats for?)

What terminal boards and/or boxes and/or cables do I need to buy to get the most out of it?
Also when I factor in the cost of all the cables, boards etc would there be a better screen for the money out there?

Also I am thinking of changing to a progressive scan DVD player with composite out would this be a good investment cash for quality wise?

I'm realy sorry about the list of questions but I am a complete novice in the area of plasma and I am greatfull for any help you can offer.

All the best
Nick

Connect all scart sources to a Quintro and then from the quintro to a JS Technology scart to VGA box, then vga cable to the vga input on the panel.

Go for a component board on the panel too -that way if you do upgrade to a progressive DVD player you can connect it directly using component cables.

(point to note - plasmas take an interlaced signal and automatically convert the signal to progressive - so if you're upgrading your DVD player you need to make sure it's a good one and outputting a better quality progressive signal than your plasma can.)

ZedZed

Hi,

Cheers for the advice I needed it as for the sound, I have a Marantz SR6200 with Missions for the six surrounds and am waiting on a REL Quake to arrive to replace my old MShort sub.

Where is the best place to buy the boxes and/or the connectors?