1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PW6 Connections changed - problems

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by PLASMABABBY, Oct 2, 2004.

  1. PLASMABABBY

    PLASMABABBY
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Walsall
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hi all,
    I've had my PW6 3 months now but still consider myself a newbie.
    Today I changed my set up so that my connection to the Scart Board is as follows:
    Freeview box -----> DVD Recorder ------> Scart Terminal on PWD6

    This works fine.

    Then I have connected a cheapo £39 Acoustic Solutions DVD player to the VGA socket on the plasma via a JS Tech Scart to VGA box. I have checked the settings on the DVD player and it gives me the choice of either a YUV or normal setting - I have set this to normal BUT the picture is blue all over and suffers from RGB patterning.

    If I try and connect my video using this method I get no picture at all.

    Any thoughts or remedies would be most welcome.
     
  2. Leigh_1973

    Leigh_1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    Have you got the VGA input setup correctly to match what your feeding it?
     
  3. PLASMABABBY

    PLASMABABBY
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Walsall
    Ratings:
    +15
    Leigh_1973
    Thanks for your response, I didn't know that you could set up the VGA inputs. How do you do this?
    Before I changed the connections the FV box worked perfectly when fed into the VGA connection.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    sounds like el cheapo DVD has poor RGB output. if it willl actually output RGB properly.
     
  5. PLASMABABBY

    PLASMABABBY
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Walsall
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hornydragon - thanks for that.

    Methinks you are right. I'll try my Philips DVDR70 but it's not multiregion and macrovision free (to make backups) as the el cheapo one.
     

Share This Page

Loading...