PVR and Smart TV recording

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by johnhh, Nov 21, 2017.

  1. johnhh

    johnhh
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wirral, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a PVR and smart TV.

    How do I make connections so that I can simultaneously record on PVR and TV i.e. up to 4 programmes simultaneously.
     
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,208
    Depends on whether you are recording from Satellite or Terrestrial Freeview ?
     
  3. johnhh

    johnhh
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wirral, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you!

    We are terrestrial Freeview.
     
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,208
    Two options.

    The feed from the aerial connects to the pvr aerial in, the pvr aerial (RF) out to the TV aerial in. You will need to turn off power saving in sby on a modern pvr to pass through the aerial to the TV with the pvr in sby

    or

    Get a cheap aerial splitter and connect the aerial to the splitter in. One splitter out to the pvr and the other to the TV.

    In both cases a hdmi cable from the pvr to the TV is used to view it's output.
     
  5. johnhh

    johnhh
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wirral, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which method will preserve the signal output?

    Currently, the tv picture is superb via PVR and by direct connection to tv. I would hope to preserve picture quality.
     
  6. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,208

    Unless you have a very weak signal they will both be identical. The splitter will save a bit of electricity.
     
  7. johnhh

    johnhh
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wirral, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you!

    I am very grateful for your helpful reply.

    I'll use a splitter as the signal strength is very good.
     

Share This Page

Loading...