1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PV500 SD Card Reocrding MPG

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by ash, Jun 23, 2005.

  1. ash

    ash
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +395
    This is possible right, recording TV on a sd card with the PV500, could someone with a PV500 and a SD card, take some recordings, like of every quality, make the videos like 20-30 sec long or whatever you want, get the tennis if you can, jsut want to see the quality, not a demand, but a request :thumbsup:

    Please if someone could, thanks.
     
  2. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,242
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,625
    It looks crap on the plasma at full screen, but looks ace on a PDA as is it the same res 320x240.

    I can't get a recording as mine is back in the box, I will check my SD card see if I have any on it.
     
  3. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +141
    I think in XF mode at its best you'll achieve 1.5 Mbps @ 320x240 (QVGA) resolution & approx 30 fps. It's really meant more for transfer to & viewing on portable devices, I think you'll be disappointed if you're planning on using it to view on the TV.

    I have a DMR-E500 DIGA DVD recorder that uses the same technology and it works well, to quote my manual

    Note: if you plan to transfer your recordings to a PC or portable device you'll need the G.726 codec for sound and another codec to view XF quality recordings, the files are stored with .ASF extensions.

    S.
     
  4. ash

    ash
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +395
    No actually I was thinking to release the videos for PC, the res sounds okay actually. 1.5MBs good as long as the coeec is good, could you get some previews please, no pressure, LOL preferably wimbledon.
     
  5. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +141
    Sorry, all I have is Daffy Duck cartoons, episodes of TopGear, ST: Enterprise, The Simpsons and Click Online :p No Wimbledon :oops:

    S.
     
  6. ash

    ash
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +395
    No worry, anything will suffice, or are you being sarcy LOL!

    As long as you lsit the quality used, anything willbe fine, no need to be sorry.
     
  7. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +141
    To be honest, I only ever record in XF quality as my recordings go direct to a 400GB HDD. When you get to the bottom end of the quality scale the recordings drop to 176x144 res. I'll do a small snippet of news, watch this space...

    S.
     
  8. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,613
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +468
    Steve P where can you get that codec for a PPC2003 and the XF compatible file ?
     
  9. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +141
    ... As promised, I even recorded some ladies tennis for you :rolleyes:

    http://homepage.ntlworld.com/stephen.r.perry/Tennis.ASF <---Right Click, Save as, or if you just click it'll probably play in Windows Media Player.

    Follow the link below if you need to install the MPEG4 XF CODEC or the G.726 Audio CODEC:

    http://panasonic.co.jp/pavc/global/cs/dvd/e500h/usage/mpeg4_e.html

    Enjoy! :D or not as the case maybe :p

    *EDIT* Sorry Ekko I wouldn't know, :( I just used the WM codecs. You could try VLC player, I use that as a back up if I come across a file I can't play... http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

    S.
     
  10. ash

    ash
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +395
    Thanks mate!!!

    What quality is it you recorded at? If you ahve time when you are free, do at diferent qualitites, but at the max res if you could thanks!
     
  11. ash

    ash
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +395
    I cant play it, Mmmmm....
     
  12. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +141
    No probs :) That was recorded using the highest quality setting, XF (stands for eXtra Fine), that's the best you can expect assuming that the PV500 TV records at the same quality as the E500 recorder. The TV maybe better as it is a newer product by about 6 months.
    Sorry, my webspace is at a premium, you could always demo a PV500 TV with an SD Card ;)
    You'll need to install the CODECS for Windows Media Player or you could try VLC player as an alternative, see my post above.

    S.
     
  13. ash

    ash
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +395
    I cant get the software for: MPEG4 XF CODEC
    It asks me for a serial number etc.
     
  14. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +141
  15. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,613
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +468
  16. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +141
  17. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,613
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +468
    Can never get enough memory :thumbsup:

    I got a bloomin terrabyte running off this PC and I'm out of space ! Might just go for that 1Gb SD.
     
  18. marmite0

    marmite0
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Has anyone played around with MPEG4 playback on their PV500?

    Inparticular, is it restricted to the lowly resolution/bandwidth that it is cable of recording ?

    Or can it playback higher resolutions, and even HD resolutions direct from SD card?? (Obviously wouldn't be able to fit much HD material on SD even a 1Gb - but..)
     
  19. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +141
    I think it'll be restricted to playing only those resolutions that it can record. NO harm in trying though.
    S.
     
  20. lasitha

    lasitha
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +3
  21. chaddy

    chaddy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +66
    i'm hoping to use this so i can record stuff then transfer it onto memory stick for my psp !
     
  22. Ookami

    Ookami
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Norway, in the "Nor" part of it
    Ratings:
    +0
    I Have a 1Gb Memorystick Pro Duo for my PSP and I'm trying to record to it on my 42PV500. THe Duo is in a PCMCIA adapter, I can look at pictures on it, but when I try to record to it the PV500 asks " SD card inserted?" or something like that.

    I think the card have to be formated in FAT12 or something similar, but the PV500 can only format the card in the SD slot.

    Anyone who can help?
     
  23. chaddy

    chaddy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +66
    i think the pv500 only records onto sd card.
     
  24. Ookami

    Ookami
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Norway, in the "Nor" part of it
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, yeah, after reeealy studdying the manual and analysing it hard, that can be the conclusion.
    Looks like the file from the PV500 would have to be converted before it would display on the PSP annyway.
     
  25. monky

    monky
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Bucharest
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, so can anybody pls pls plss post here a small sample of how PV500 is recording in highest quality ? Steve P posted a file, but it was recording with E500. I still hope PV500 can do better. Please, somebody do this for the poor ppl like me waiting for a sample to see if it worths 100USD for 1GB 133X Corsair....

    Thank you in advance !
     
  26. jet_andy

    jet_andy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Crowborough
    Ratings:
    +40
    Thanks for this, spent ages hunting around for a link that worked - the panny support site is down for maintenance.

    One question - when you run the file it asks for a folder location. Do we select the WMP folder, or what?

    Cheers
     
  27. lasitha

    lasitha
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +3
    I think this was the install folder.
     
  28. jet_andy

    jet_andy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Crowborough
    Ratings:
    +40
    Think my first download was corrupted - trying again.
     
  29. jet_andy

    jet_andy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Crowborough
    Ratings:
    +40
    Ah Ha, yes it works, thanks lasitha! I downloaded the file again and when it unzippped I realised there were a lot of files mssing from the first download. Don' know what happned, but it works now. Thanks for the help.
     
  30. 01gee

    01gee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi can any one help me am wanting to record tv sky to a sd card so i can watch it on my portable tv when away at weekends can u tell me which and what i would need to do this with

    thanks gee
     

Share This Page

Loading...