1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PV500 processed look

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by ColdKilla, Sep 19, 2005.

  1. ColdKilla

    ColdKilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    726
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +21
    Just a quick query - I have noticed on some programs (emphasised on Lost on E4) that occassionally some scenes the images look what I can only describe as processed. Most of the time it is fine but occasionally noticable on skin colour areas the colours look blocky and processed (like I am watching it on a pc in a crap resolution if ya know what I mean)

    Is this normal? And is it to do with the TV or the compression of the broadcast?

    CK
     
  2. Daipac

    Daipac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    It is the broadcast, a lot of the lower bandwidth channels will show this.
     
  3. cliveuk

    cliveuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Folkestone, UK
    Ratings:
    +45
    i would say its down to the compression of the broadcast, try watching it on E4+1 because im sure i read somewhere they use higher bandwidth.
     
  4. Sulis

    Sulis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've not seen that - it always looks like DVD... Are you watching it on Freeview or SKY? I have a dedicated scart going from SKY RGB to AV1, which I think is a lot better than routing it through the ES10.
     
  5. mjm2705

    mjm2705
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    271
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +16
    Sulis

    Out of interest, how do you record from Sky in RGB if not looped through the ES10 ??

    Mark M
     

Share This Page

Loading...