1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PV500 Picture in Picture?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by joydivision1980, Sep 18, 2005.

  1. joydivision1980

    joydivision1980
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a 42PV500 plasma and i am wanting to use the picture in picture mode but it doesn't seem to work with the following setup;

    Plasma to Amp via Component
    Skybox to DVD via Scart
    DVD to Amp via Component

    Can i watch sky and pc screen with pic in pic? I'm sure i read somewhere that this is not possible but can someone confirm this?
    Can i watch DVD and sky on same screen?
    I also assume you cannot watch two sky programmes at once.

    Cheers
    JD
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I think you can't do PinP with the PC input on the PV500. DVD I assume is a DVDR, and is converting RGB scart to component? If you have only 1 connection to the screen you can't do PinP with anything. You'll need to get an RGB scart multiplier, and make RGB connections both to DVDR and screen, scart 1, then you could have sky in 1 picture and terrestrial from DVDR in another? Or if your amp is up to the job, make both component and composite or s-video connections to the amp from both sources, and connect component and s or composite from zone 2 out if your amp supports it. Then you can switch the picture in picture with zone 2. We do this frequently, gadget freaks love it.
     
  3. tscotsman

    tscotsman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    can someone confirm, can you hear sound through the headphones of the 2nd screen??
     
  4. joydivision1980

    joydivision1980
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks MAW,

    I'll look into it, seems a waste not to use the option.
     

Share This Page

Loading...