Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Pv500 Dvi>Hdmi

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Zeggi, Oct 17, 2005.

  1. Zeggi

    Zeggi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey!

    ive got a 42pv500 and ive just built a media center, a barbone computer with a asus 6600gt card... now my problem is the following, ive just bought a supra cable dvi2hdmi its a clean cable no adapters or stuff in bettwen..

    now when using the media center for 5mins i get a lot of faults, distoring in green colour... and sometimes i get like a green pixel map all over the screen, all the distortion is green and white.. now im wondering why am i getting this?

    and if anyone else here has the same problem?
    any tips/recomendation is appreciated

    i havent tested it with my ptae700 i will do that as soon as i get the chance.

    thanks!
     
  2. irishguy2002

    irishguy2002
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I've only ran the pc via - VGA.

    I was thinking of running my pc via DVI - HDMI, however it does state in the manual that the HDMI input is not designed for PC's.

    I have the 37PV500.

    VGA looks pretty good running DIVX HD and HD Stuff.

    What type of DVI-HDMI cable are you using, where did you get it?

    There are so many different cables @ different prices some 20 some 90 for a dvi - hdmi cable.. not sure if the type that you got was a cheapo version?

    Paul
     
  3. Zeggi

    Zeggi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    its a Supra cable, and it went for 350sek thats about 35e
    and its recomended by users..

    the Vga cable works but it doesnt deliver hdtv :(
    its analog so you dont get to see that in true hd qual
     
  4. mork80

    mork80
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've bought a DVI2HDMI cable on eBay for almost 20euros and works great !!! Perfect pictures and amazing HDTV 720&1080 (mostly trailers downloaded from web).
    TheaterTek DVD player thru my HTPC is even better than any RGB commercial DVD player.
     
  5. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    Could it be a graphics card fault? I assume you are sending 1280x720p resolution. If you go into the VGA you can send 1024x768 meaning no rescaling is going on in the panel at all. Try it with a decent VGA lead, you won't be able to tell the difference between analogue and digital once properly configured.
     
  6. irishguy2002

    irishguy2002
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes,

    I agree it looks fantasic on using my vga currently, not sure what the jump will look like on DVI-HDMI - it should be better.

    However I think I have properly configured my box and it looks stunning..
     
  7. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    Should be, but probably won't. Panasonic DVI implementation is not better than analogue on the pro monitors, I would expect the same of the TVs. Add to this the fact that the TV wil have to rescale 720p on HDMI and in actual fact the picture will probably be worse!! A fresh digital picture looks great at first, but once you setup your contrast/brightness/colour etc it looks no better than VGA.
     
  8. Zeggi

    Zeggi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm well looking @ vga and hdmi u can see that the hdmi is way much more sharper, almost to sharp specially when it comes to text..

    about the gfx card, when setting the rez @ 1024*768 the plasma strecthes the pic to much so you cant see the whole start bar, so i switch to hdtv signals and put it @ 720p which then lets me see everything but still i can also strecth it a bit, but that doesnt matter since the faults i get come when im using the hdmi..
     
  9. irishguy2002

    irishguy2002
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I will test the theory today, got a dvi - hdmi lead.

    Will try it when I get home and post the results.
     
  10. Zeggi

    Zeggi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok but, vga doesnt let you see hdtv qual right? since it is analog? or am i wrong now
     
  11. irishguy2002

    irishguy2002
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well component is analog...

    I'm running HI DEF DIVX / Movies through my xbox and they look the same as the PC, although the playback is jerky the quality is the same.

    I ran the movies from divx.com/hd and they look sweet...

    Anyways it looks great - I'm happy so I think that's the main thing!

    I love tweaking stuff to the max as well to get the best quality but at the end of the day you have to sit down and enjoy the thing that you are watching/playing.

    There seem to be alot of people on this site who are more interested in getting the perfect picture and not enjoying it!!

    Thanks my 2 centz ..
     
  12. Zeggi

    Zeggi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    irishguy2002, so your recomendations are to run with vga?
    cause sure i could live with that, but the question is will the signal from the pc >plasma/projector show 720p? when lets say watching a divx tvseries...
    if not will the qual be any near the 720p specs?

    cause i could live with that.. and yes im not only going for what specs and people say, of course my eyes controll whats best viewing and whats not... thats why i bought the panny instead of the lg
     
  13. irishguy2002

    irishguy2002
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Well I'm running with DVI now...

    I have alot of picture problems i.e. getting the right vert horz sync.

    The screen is sharper than vga but I have not really seen much difference to that of vga...

    I'm sure once I get the screen settings perfected it will give an overall better quality picture but to be honest there doesn't seem to be a great deal of difference when sitting a metre away from the screen.

    I'm using powerstrip to create custom resolutions for my ati graphics card on my laptop.

    I will report back...
     
  14. Zeggi

    Zeggi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok now ive tried with the projector and well i have no problems there with the dvi2hdmi :/ so that means that the plasma isnt working that well or something else...

    i did what you said, i tested with vga and compared and i must say NO!
    to linear... i see a bunch of faults and colour isnt that great, thats only my opinion..
    im using a nvidia card and well as i said it worked on the projector and hey 1080i wasnt that bad with +100" screen.

    Another thing that came to my mind, i read something about xbox users using the HD cable set, the component and getting lines up/down in the background still lines.
    and well i got the same with my xbox, first i thought it was my cable set but now with the projector connected with dvi2hdmi i saw the same fault. noticed it alot when runing windows media center, any clue why? a setting or a fault? bad cable?
     
  15. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Problem is, compared to a projector, plasma simply aint that great! Also, is your projector not 1280/720 native? The plasma is not, and you can't get native on HDMI, it simply can't be done. Native res is VGA only, and you most certainly can see all of HDTV resolution on VGA. They've been doing it that way in the states for years. It's hollywood muscling in that has instigated HDMI, it's a grotesque marketing con, which says digital is better, but is actually about copy protection, and naff all to do with quality. Yes, digital 'should' be better, but only if it's native res, and it's not, except to your projector. If you really want a PC based system, you should have bought a different screen if you want digital nirvana. Or just do VGA, it'll be pretty good anyway.
     
  16. irishguy2002

    irishguy2002
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    MAV is correct...

    Hi Def on DVI/HDMI looks great on HD Sources (albeit cropped!!)

    If it aint Hi Def i.e. DVD/Divx etc... then it looks much better on vga a little less colourful and grainy (only a little) but poorer sources look much better.

    Probably better off sticking to vga (pq is not too different) and use a hardware based device to pipe out HD signals.

    Going to switch back to vga for the moment.

    Must try my xbox component leads now...
     
  17. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Now imagine what all your sources might look like scaled to native res on VGA with full picture control, per input, colour, contrast, brightness etc. I'm watching 5th gear like that now, with a scaler. Now imagine that calibrated to ISF standards. Stuff HDMI, get into serious high end video, that wasn't hard was it?
     
  18. Zeggi

    Zeggi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    well the projector does the same rez as the plasma 1024*768 hd ready
    i tested the barebone computer to see if the fault was from it or the plasma/cable.

    but again the picqual is better with the hdmi cable i mean its crystal clear, while with the vga its really bad ive tried all settings since you guys recomend vga, ok sure thats when it comes to HD signals, but if you compare divx/dvd with the vga and hdmi it aint that much of a difference, sure you have to change contrast/light etc but still i see it better with hdmi since it does deliver same qual + better for hdtv use... im talking about the plasma now, the projector is connected to the xbox and that works great. except for recent linear faults.
     
  19. irishguy2002

    irishguy2002
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did notice that my DVI cable was a bit faulty and had the issues with the green screen and various other problems..

    The cable was not straight and when bent the picture went blank/black or crazy....
     
  20. Zeggi

    Zeggi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i called panasonic today, they couldnt help me. he mentioned something about the digital settings from the computer, if they could be switched to analog i didnt understand him that well since he was norweign. but still he didnt know what to help with. so im stuck, only way is to test it with a dvdplayer and see how that works :/
    no i have to get me a dvdplayer with hdmi out :S
     
  21. avman69

    avman69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had a PV500 for some time now and have had my P.C. connected via both vga to vga & dvi to hdmi. When i started with the hdmi it was overscanning both desktop & in games. I downloaded the latest video drivers from nvidia which allowed me to underscan the desktop to 1216*684. Now the desktop is perfect fit.
    When i did this, it became a res that i could select to choose on both half life 2 & far cry. For non widescreen games i went in & edited the ini or config file to change the res to 1216*684 & also changed the field of view to give the proper widescreen aspect.

    I have to say that I have had vga connected at native res 1024*768 1:1 pixel mapping & the hdmi at 1216*684 scaled & my findings are that the hdmi digital is sharper & clearer for games mentioned.
     
  22. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    I'd respectfully suggest that you do not actually have pixel mapping on VGA then
     
  23. avman69

    avman69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    pc desktop was set to 1024*768 via vga to vga which is the native res of the panel, ie no scaling apparantly!
     
  24. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Yes, but that's not 1:1 mapping, the size/position probably needs adjusting with a test pattern, and then probably clock phase. Then you'll see a difference.
     
  25. avman69

    avman69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maw we have got to look at ways to get a good widescreen image on these panels as that is the way all these games are going, both on P.C. and next gen consoles, also non widescreen games look crap on widescreen panels, fat squashed characters running about. No amount of test patterns or clock phase adjustments fix that. Also im afraid there is no widescreen res for games that wont require some scaling away from the native res of a panel
     
  26. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Yeah, I know. The things are simply not designed for PC gaming, except the odd game which controls the aspect ratio. Mindows media does this too, you can tell it your screen is a W/S even though it's XGA. Some games have this. Only 50" panels have a native W/S resolution, you need a Fuji or panasonic or possibly a MXE1 50 for a PC monitor, the MXE still leaves a small amount of aspect distortion, but it's not really noticeable. It's the TV versions which all have this trouble, PC users avoid!!
     
  27. avman69

    avman69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No Maw i wouldnt agree that P.C. users should avoid a plasma T.V. I have described a way to get good results using Dvi to hdmi & underscanning which would please alot of plasma tv owners. Its up to whoevers interested to try it. People have seen mine running & been mighty impressed.
     
  28. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Some folks are easily impressed by something big, mate! This might be beacuse they have not seen anything that does the job any better.
     
  29. avman69

    avman69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i only know what i know. These guys like me are veteran pc gamers used to playing on a variety of different kit, from 21'' crt's to viewsonic & iiyama lcd monitors. all agree the plasma through hdmi looks sharp, couple that with a wireless logitech rf keyboard & laser mouse & its the business.

    I want people to know that it is possible to get good results connecting the P.C. through hdmi & to try it for themselves.
     
  30. Zeggi

    Zeggi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    avman69, and you are also using a pv500?
    if so what cable you using?

    cause im starting do doubt that its the cable, since ive tried everything, last thing for me to do is to go the the localstore with my barebone and cable so i can try it on the demo thats up, to see if its giving same faults, hopefully its my plasma.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice