1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PV500 Cables ?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by chowyunfatt, Jun 25, 2005.

  1. chowyunfatt

    chowyunfatt
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,860
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    Hi,

    I will sonn be getting a PV500 42" and need to know a few things about conections.

    I would like to run the cables in and plaster over and then wall mount the tv but need to know what cables to run in and what distance from the bottom of the tv to come out of the wall so you cant see them and how far to let then stick out so i can easily plug them in.

    i think this is whats needed

    Svideo
    Component video- red, green, blue
    2 sets of avleads- white, red
    HDMI
    3 RGB scart
    Aeriel
    VGA pc Connection.

    I have put a power socket just above the tv so that wont need to be covered.

    Any help from people with the same model and wall mount will be much apreciated.
    Many thanks.
     
  2. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,063
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,597
    I have mounted mine over the fireplace, I need 3m cables.

    The cables plug in at the bottom of the plasma so you will need to measure the distance.

    Recommended cables:

    Component - he also does VGA, mains, HDMI, Phonos.

    Depends on your budget, I would recommend components from Mark Grant (above)
    SCART, Audio, HDMI - you are probably better of with ones from TV cables.

    SCART, AUDIO, HDMI, S-VHS here: http://www.tvcables.co.uk
     
  3. chowyunfatt

    chowyunfatt
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,860
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    How far did you let the cables come out of the wall and also how far up from the bottom of the set? :)

    Thanks
     
  4. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,063
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,597
    I haven't actually sunk the cables yet, in the process of decorating.
    The connections are about 4" up the back of the plasma (from memory)
    The other end, they will probably stick out of the wall approx 18-24"" to allow enough length to plug in to the AV stuff on a rack.

    Pic of connections:

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=15036
     
  5. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,063
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,597
    Where have you ordered it from?
    You can't connect up once on the wall - unless you are using a bracket that allows this (mine from RGB does)
     
  6. chowyunfatt

    chowyunfatt
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,860
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    That picture is a help thanks.

    I will set the cables about 3" up from bottom of set and if i leave them about 10" sticking out from the surface of the wall this should be ok looking at your picture.

    I haven't ordered the mount yet, but i will make sure i get one as you suggest that allows easy conection of the cables.

    Thanks for your time and help. :)
     
  7. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,063
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,597
    You usually get the mount with it when you order, usually a panasonic one, but RGB give you their universal one which allows you to hook the plasma on the top bar and tilt it so you get your cables in.
     
  8. AV killed my CC

    AV killed my CC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Mal, have you sourced a longer mains cable yet or have other plans ? The supplied one it pretty short
     
  9. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,063
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,597
    I got a 3m one from Mark Grant - £35
     
  10. AV killed my CC

    AV killed my CC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks Mal, I'll look at Mark Grant
     

Share This Page

Loading...