• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

PV1 stops working after loud effects on Denon 2310

Dialogue

Standard Member
I'm wondering if I can get some advice as I am new to home cinema. I have a recurring problem with my new B&W PV1 sub (part of an MT-30 package).

It all works well on most ocassions, but sometimes the PV1 stops working out during playback of a loud scene in a movie - the green light stays on, but the sub stops making sounds. If I take out the plug and reinsert it, or even switch it to standby and back to (A)uto, it starts working again.

It's almost as if the sub switches off to protect itself from damage. I'm playing back at +5.0db, but the amp is rated at 105W per channel so I wouldn't have thought it would cause a problem. In fact, as the sub is driven by its own amp, surely it protects itself from damage? I do sometimes see the driver moving quite a distance (say +/- 1cm) for low frequency effects - is that usual?

I have set the amp to LFE+Main, 80Hz crossover, set the crossover to 70Hz on the sub, and set the volume on the sub to just under mid-way. The amp is set to +1.5db for the sub, which seems minor.

Could this be a fault in the sub? It has happened when watching movies at 'reasonable' volume levels but for 1.5 hours.

It all works fine for music and normal TV.

Any ideas?

Prize78

Prominent Member
Firstly, welcome to the forums :thumbsup:
LFE+Main?? You should have this setting to LFE only, as I believe LFE+Main means that the bass is sent from the amp, to the subwoofer AND the main speakers....which is only really used if your mains are able to handle really low stuff. For the masses, LFE only is employed, meaning the bass gets sent to the sub only. (which is what you want)