Putting it all together - advice plz!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Kronin, Dec 4, 2002.

1. Kronin

Kronin

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all :)

Ive just started buying and planning my first home cinema setup, its only going to be based on a modest budget - but heres what I have so far, or intend to buy :

TV : Sony 28" widescreen (KV-28LS35U)
    DVD : Philips DVDR880
    Receiver : Havent got this yet, im going for a Denon AVR1802 or a Marantz SR4300
    Speakers : Just got these today, Mission M70's and a 70ASE sub

So..... bearing in mind im a newbie, im ripping my hair out trying to work out what and how to put all of this lot together. Heres how I see it, please tell me If Its going to work :confused:

1) The TV is already connected to the DVD player via a scart cable so thats ok, but im going to need a 2xphono > 2xphono interconnect to connect the receiver to the back of the TV, right ?

2) The DVD player only has coaxial digital out not optical, so I think I need a digital coaxial cable to connect that to the receiver, still sounding ok ?

3) Now onto the speakers. Im getting really confused about what type of speaker cable I should be looking at, but I'll ask about that later. The back of the missions have regular spring clips, but I dont know what type of rear connections the Denon or Marantz has ? If Im forced to use bare wire on the speaker end, might I just as well use the same on the amp end ? Is that ok ?

4) And finally the sub. It came with this y-adaptor cable (about 3" long - is this JUST an adaptor cable or did Mission expect me to hang the sub 3 inches off the back of the receiver?!) - with 2 phono plugs that go into the back of the sub, but how do I connect the actual receivers sub output to this ?

Told you I was a newbie! If I am right in all of that above, hows this for a "cabling shopping list" ?

1 x IXOS 104 interconnect (for the Receiver > TV)