Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Put A Hdd Into Panasonic Dmr-e30

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by idiot9, Nov 22, 2002.

  1. idiot9

    idiot9
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi i'm new here but i was wondering if anyone knows if its possible to fit a hdd into this recorder

    and also does anyone know how to record dvds using this machine playing from either a pc or ps2

    THANKS:D
     
  2. Chimp

    Chimp
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sure there would be some space inside the case LOL
    Just sling one in hehehehehe

    NOooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!! You can't!
     
  3. idiot9

    idiot9
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    well how about putting a hdd inside its own case and then connecting it
     
  4. wilby

    wilby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    That'll be an HS2 then.

    I know what you mean though. If a iMac can support a firewire plug-in drive why not a DVD recorder or for that matter, any recording device (TIVO or Vid)

    No doubt a better informed member will reply to the contrary

    Ta
     
  5. wellsi

    wellsi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    You can't compare a PC / Mac application with standalone units;
    Computer setups can have their programs altered to accept peripherials; standalone units are fixed. The advantage is that the units actually work without crashing every other day like computer based units; the disadvantage is that you're stuck with what's programmed into them, with no scope to add-on.
    But as wilby said, the HS-2 is what you're after...
     
  6. idiot9

    idiot9
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i would like an hs2 but i can't afford it and i don't see the point in paying an extra £400 for what is basically a dmr-e30 with a hard drive, that is why i was wanting to know if it was possible to either put a hard drive inside the case or connect an external hard drive to it :(
     
  7. wellsi

    wellsi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    Fully agree that it is indeed £400 for an extra hard drive and DV input. It's where the E-20 was a year ago at £900; you're paying for the development costs for the first year...
    An alternative is to get a second Panasonic dvd player that plays back RAM discs (they've been mentioned in the forum); as the RAMs behave like a hard drive, you get the best of both worlds for less money...
     
  8. Fuel Crusher

    Fuel Crusher
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought a TiVo recently (seeing as they were only £99) to work with my E30, ie record to Ram, edit, record on TiVo, then back to DVD-R. Works great but is a bit of a chore, and even on 'best' quality the TiVo isn't a patch on the panny. I reckon I'm gonna get one of the new DVD-Ram players when funds allow.
    Paul.
     
  9. idiot9

    idiot9
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the info but does anyone know if i can play a dvd on another player(ps2 for example) and then record it using the dmr-e30?

    thanks:D
     
  10. wellsi

    wellsi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    Yes, easily. unless there's Macrovision copy protection, in which case the Panny will politely tell you "Recording of this material is not allowed". I get round this with Macro stripping scart leads from Sonel.com.

    The copying is like playing back a video though; you won't copy the menus etc
     
  11. Mark Bennett

    Mark Bennett
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Actually I had the same thought as I was reviewing the Philips 890 - as it has a firewire port.

    Called them up and no, it's not possible. Input only. But for nifty external firewire cases I found this:
    http://dealmac.com/articles/44202.html


    M
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice