1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Put A Hdd Into Panasonic Dmr-e30

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by idiot9, Nov 22, 2002.

  1. idiot9

    idiot9
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi i'm new here but i was wondering if anyone knows if its possible to fit a hdd into this recorder

    and also does anyone know how to record dvds using this machine playing from either a pc or ps2

    THANKS:D
     
  2. Chimp

    Chimp
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sure there would be some space inside the case LOL
    Just sling one in hehehehehe

    NOooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!! You can't!
     
  3. idiot9

    idiot9
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    well how about putting a hdd inside its own case and then connecting it
     
  4. wilby

    wilby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    That'll be an HS2 then.

    I know what you mean though. If a iMac can support a firewire plug-in drive why not a DVD recorder or for that matter, any recording device (TIVO or Vid)

    No doubt a better informed member will reply to the contrary

    Ta
     
  5. wellsi

    wellsi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    You can't compare a PC / Mac application with standalone units;
    Computer setups can have their programs altered to accept peripherials; standalone units are fixed. The advantage is that the units actually work without crashing every other day like computer based units; the disadvantage is that you're stuck with what's programmed into them, with no scope to add-on.
    But as wilby said, the HS-2 is what you're after...
     
  6. idiot9

    idiot9
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i would like an hs2 but i can't afford it and i don't see the point in paying an extra £400 for what is basically a dmr-e30 with a hard drive, that is why i was wanting to know if it was possible to either put a hard drive inside the case or connect an external hard drive to it :(
     
  7. wellsi

    wellsi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    Fully agree that it is indeed £400 for an extra hard drive and DV input. It's where the E-20 was a year ago at £900; you're paying for the development costs for the first year...
    An alternative is to get a second Panasonic dvd player that plays back RAM discs (they've been mentioned in the forum); as the RAMs behave like a hard drive, you get the best of both worlds for less money...
     
  8. Fuel Crusher

    Fuel Crusher
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought a TiVo recently (seeing as they were only £99) to work with my E30, ie record to Ram, edit, record on TiVo, then back to DVD-R. Works great but is a bit of a chore, and even on 'best' quality the TiVo isn't a patch on the panny. I reckon I'm gonna get one of the new DVD-Ram players when funds allow.
    Paul.
     
  9. idiot9

    idiot9
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the info but does anyone know if i can play a dvd on another player(ps2 for example) and then record it using the dmr-e30?

    thanks:D
     
  10. wellsi

    wellsi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    Yes, easily. unless there's Macrovision copy protection, in which case the Panny will politely tell you "Recording of this material is not allowed". I get round this with Macro stripping scart leads from Sonel.com.

    The copying is like playing back a video though; you won't copy the menus etc
     
  11. Mark Bennett

    Mark Bennett
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Actually I had the same thought as I was reviewing the Philips 890 - as it has a firewire port.

    Called them up and no, it's not possible. Input only. But for nifty external firewire cases I found this:
    http://dealmac.com/articles/44202.html


    M
     

Share This Page

Loading...