Purple Line on Kuro 5090

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Simon-2k, Feb 7, 2009.

  1. Simon-2k

    Simon-2k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi guys,

    Was watching a film last night before going out and when we were leaving I stood next to the tv and noticed a purple line running down the screen. Went out thinking it was maybe the DVD player/lead or something like that.

    However this morning on Virgin through Scart the purple line is still there. It is about 7 inches long and it looks like there is a dead pixel at the top of it.

    Anyone had anything similar? Its only about 7weeks old

    I'll try and get a picture of it.
     
  2. Simon-2k

    Simon-2k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    [​IMG]

    Apologies for crap quality - iPhone
     
  3. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +9,002
    Sounds like it's developed a fault. :(
    Just seen you pic,doesn't look right i would contact your retailer.
     
  4. technozen

    technozen
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like a panel fault rather than something being caused by faulty electronics.
     
  5. Simon-2k

    Simon-2k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Well I got a fault quicker than the warranty :D
     
  6. wHoMe

    wHoMe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    955
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +128
    Not really your standard 1 year Pioneer warranty started the minute you got the screen :)

    Bit of bad luck there hopefully your get a new one
     
  7. JensDad

    JensDad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a similar issue with my six week old KRP-500A. Have contacted my dealer (Chew and Osborne, Saffron Walden) who are trying to arrange for a Pioneer engineer to come out and assess the problem.
     
  8. JensDad

    JensDad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Pioneer engineer has been out to look at this problem on my KRP500A and says that I need a replacement monitor, but his report will have to go into Pioneer for them to decide. Waiting to see what happens next, good service from Pioneer so far.

    Simon-2K - have you managed to get the problem sorted?

    JD
     
  9. Simon-2k

    Simon-2k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Haven't forgotten about this thread.

    Pioneer are coming tomorrow afternoon so will let you know. I contacted TLC who arranged for Pioneer to call and arrange the visit.

    Service great so far
     
  10. Simon-2k

    Simon-2k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    2 Guys turned up, very friendly and polite. Had a look at TV and were confused that it was only a partial line.

    They took the Tv apart to check internal connections but to no avail. It's a work of art in there, packed with electronics.

    They have taken the TV away and will repair it. I am moving house soon and they have agreed to hold onto the TV and deliver it to my new place. Saves me moving it at least.

    It does look like they are going to strip the TV, replace the panel, and put it back together. I migh ask if there is a firmware upgrade available whilst they have it ?

    Oh and they hinted that the 5090 (or KRP500A) were not the last Pioneer screens
     
  11. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +9,002
    I'm afraid it is. :(
     
  12. Simon-2k

    Simon-2k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thats what I have read, apparently there is a load in stock ready to be sold.

    God knows though - I just want a TV back :D
     
  13. JensDad

    JensDad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe I spoke to soon when I mentioned good service from Pioneer! Latest update is that they are now considering whether to replace the glass panel or replace the whole unit - but are yet to decide which.
     
  14. Simon-2k

    Simon-2k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    TV comes back tomorrow (moved house today).

    They had to replace the panel.
     
  15. JensDad

    JensDad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the update, please let us know the verdict on the quality of repair.

    I'm currently waiting for Pioneer to collect so they can replace the planel.

    JD
     

Share This Page

Loading...