Pure PVR: "insufficient output protection"

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by Candaules, Feb 4, 2014.

Tags:
  1. Candaules

    Candaules
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    SW France
    Ratings:
    +6
    After switching on the Pure PVR, I switched on my Denon AVR X2000. (The PVR is connnected to the TV, via the AVR by hdmi.) The TV screen blanked for a moment (as normal), then when the image returned there was an on-screen warning from the PVR: "insufficient output protection." It quickly disappeared, and everything worked normally afterwards. I have never seen this warning before.
    What does it mean? (I have googled it, but not found anything intelligible.)
    And should I worry?
     
  2. mr bobajob

    mr bobajob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using Output Protection Manager (Windows)


    It's a security measure brought into help stop illegal copying of copyrighted material, as far as I understand.

    Apparently, these sort of error messages are getting more prevalent, and occur randomly when a system is initialising.

     
  3. Candaules

    Candaules
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    SW France
    Ratings:
    +6
    That's funny, as it was tuned to BBC 1 HD, so there shouldn't have been any copyright issue.
    I vaguely thought it might be something to do with voltages, (and worried about maybe blowing a fuse), but the security thing looks more plausible.
    Thanks for the response.
     
  4. mr bobajob

    mr bobajob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Candaules,

    It appears that the message should not appear unless your device detects illegal copying of material. There seems to be a bug in the software which is causing this message to appear when it shouldn't.
     
  5. petrev

    petrev
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    TX Mendip - DHR8205: FW4.22 - M1.35Blk
    Ratings:
    +1,015
    It is a general problem with HDMI links and the HDCP (copy protection) system - The link is checked constantly and any little error can cause the link to be blocked !!! The integrity of the link is paramount !!!!!
    No Illegal Copying !!!!!!!!
    This causes many systems to have occasional problems - the message often used is a Black Screen with HDCP Error message.
     
  6. Candaules

    Candaules
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    SW France
    Ratings:
    +6
    That seems to explain it: a bug causing an incorrect warning. It was a one-off (I hope) so I won't worry about it.
    Thanks to all responders.
     
  7. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,095
    I think paranoia is built into the HDMI interface.:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...