1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Purchase of a Panny plasma by a newbie

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by adopted scouser, Oct 13, 2004.

1. adopted scouser

adopted scouser
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Dear all,

Having read loads of posts on the AV Forum I've decided on a Panasonic 42" PW7 and misc other AV equipment.

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to the world of plasma screens, but having read plenty of advice from the plasma gurus on this forum I've ended up with this configuration:

VIDEO:
    Panasonic TH-42PW7B (use the built-in vga plug)
    Van Damme VGA 15 pin HD to VGA 15 pin HD (plasma to converter)
    JS RGB to Plasma Screen VGA Converter
    QED SQART AV41 RGB Special Edition SCART to SCART (converter to AV receiver)
    Pioneer VSX-502-S AV Reciever (My old Denon AV Receiver is overdue replacing)

To the AV Reciever I will connect my existing Denon DVD player (it only has scart and s-video) via RGB scart, Pace Sky+ via RGB scart and Nokia European Satellite Digibox via RGB scart.

AUDIO:
    DVD to AV Reciever via optical cable
    Sky+ to AV Reciever via optical cable

To you AV gods out there, is this a reasonable and feasible setup? Or do you have any better ideas? As far as I see it my only concern is lip sync. Will this be an issue?

I will be absolutely sure before I splash the cash.

Also from reading good feedback on AV Sales, I'm ready to place as much as possible of the order with them. Good idea?

2. adopted scouser

adopted scouser
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Anyone out there that can help me? Or have any input on my suggested setup? :lease:

as

3. Tony8377

Tony8377

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4