Punkbuster issues and rubbish support

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Deadringers, Aug 1, 2012.

  1. Deadringers

    Deadringers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,833
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +1,800
    Right will paste in here my online ticket.

    Really is terrible that they can't even tell me why their own program is kicking me. Complete joke.

    basically it kicks me for a "disallowed driver/program"...okay thanks for that so what program / driver is it?
    can't tell me that!

    really ****ing useful. :suicide::facepalm::spam:

    Not only does it kick me but it kicks me after about 10-20 minutes of being in-game which is even more annoying!

    More annoying because being the awesome player that I am that means all my hard work getting to the top of the leaderboard and owning the rest of you while making stu/singh/dave/greg etc my bitches means that I then lose all that progress and can't sign autographs at the end of each round :(


    here it is:
    *N.B.*
    read it from the bottom up as that is the order these posts have been done in.
     
  2. stument

    stument
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    13,265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +3,113
    :rotfl: :smashin: We all know who the BIG DAWG is...
     
  3. bigtruck

    bigtruck
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6,065
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +2,136
    You called?
    :laugh::D
     
  4. stument

    stument
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    13,265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +3,113
    Nooooo your the Big Truck :D
     
  5. Foster

    Foster
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    16,031
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    West Yorks
    Ratings:
    +7,236
    I agree they are useless *****, I sorted my problem out by myself after hours of trail and error.
     
  6. eiren

    eiren
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,796
    It's AVAST.

    Disable that completely and try again.
     
  7. eiren

    eiren
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,796
  8. eiren

    eiren
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,796
  9. Pinky Floyd

    Pinky Floyd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +248
    Would take you a year of getting kicked and enabling/disabling processes from that huge list before you would find the answer :D
     
  10. Deadringers

    Deadringers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,833
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +1,800
    But there are no messages from avast saying it stopped PB unlike what they are reporting in that thread mate.

    I am going to keep banging on at them till they sort it..it's their software so they HAVE to know what it does?
     
  11. Pinky Floyd

    Pinky Floyd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +248
    Not necessarily. If for some reason Punkbuster sees a process as suspicious it will leap into action. The fact it doesn't happen straight away suggests it is a process which fires up intermittently which could be one of the avast processes.

    It sounds as if its the Punkbuster logging which is awful as it should really be logging the process id or name out to a log. At the very least they could write out to an encrypted log which you could then send to them to get them to tell you exactly what the issue is.

    Regardless, I would get rid of avast :D
     
  12. eiren

    eiren
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,796
    Yeah Avast is the problem.

    It would only take you like 20 minutes to disable it, play 20 minutes, and see if that's the problem.
     
  13. wolvers

    wolvers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,466
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Buckingham
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    I had this in BC2, except it wasn't kicking me........it was crashing my PC! :(

    Just like with you, they didn't know what was causing it and I had to close programs one at a time to find the culprit. It took funkin ages. Turned out to be a mobo application. PB is utter pants, as it seems their support is too. Shockingly though, there's nothing better. :rolleyes:
     
  14. eiren

    eiren
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,796
  15. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,672
    Unfortunately for you, Josh, it's in their best interests to be as cryptic as possible. They don't want to run around telling people what Punkbuster is looking for.
     
  16. Deadringers

    Deadringers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,833
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +1,800
    I don't see why not..

    we all know how an ipsec over GRE tunnel works to secure site to site communications but you still can't hack it :)

    stupid PB
     
  17. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,672
    Knowing what you're up against is the key to attacking it though and so knowing what will be detected gives you an indication of things to avoid or subvert
     
  18. stument

    stument
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    13,265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +3,113
    i don't :confused:
     
  19. austinqpr

    austinqpr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Downham Market, Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +376
    You do now :D

    Well, I say that, I've just read it and still don't have a scooby what it means :facepalm:
     
  20. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,205
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,230
    Its an inverted VPN running a LINUX based protocol that subvertly pings specific port numbers and passes cookie like transactions, not dissimilar to TCP/IP traffic over a Wireless NAT.



















    ...no, I dont know ether. :rotfl:
     
  21. Deadringers

    Deadringers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,833
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +1,800
    Didn't know it would get so much confusion! Ha basically just a very secure site to site tunnel that makes a remote office just look like an extension of your current office, e.g. Allows you to send routing updates.

    Can use AES 256 bit encryption to secure your data which is pretty much un-hackable.
     
  22. wolvers

    wolvers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,466
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Buckingham
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    Is it actually any good at stopping cheating/hacking though? I wonder how they compare in their effectiveness, as well as how quickly they are updated to stop new exploits.

    The Crysis2 one was very unobtrusive, but we all know how rubbish that was at dealing with hackers!
     
  23. Deadringers

    Deadringers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,833
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +1,800
    I still can't get my head round why people would want to cheat at something like a FPS...it can't be any fun!?
     
  24. eiren

    eiren
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,796
    Really good... hence why TF2 and DOTA2 are some of the most played MP games.

    I don't think Crysis 2 actually had any anti-cheating enabled, despite what Crytek said. That's what killed it off, as the MP on Crysis 2 was brilliant! Just completely ruined by cheats.
     
  25. eiren

    eiren
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,796
    Have you turned off AVAST and tested yet? HMM!?!?! :lesson::hiya:
     
  26. Deadringers

    Deadringers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,833
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +1,800
    ha not had a chance to play yet mate, I will try it this weekend and if still ****s up then get rid of avast. :)
     
  27. Deadringers

    Deadringers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,833
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +1,800
    Right played tonight and kept on getting kicked.

    Got this reply and sent one:

    Really is very poor that they don't know how their program works or why it is kicking me.

    Not impressed at all.

    And I got rid of Avast and got MSE and no change..thought not.
     
  28. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,672
    Have you done as they said and closed as much as possible to see if you can narrow down the cause?

    You'd do it if you had a hardware problom, why not software? There's obviously something with a hook into the game which isn't allowed.
     
  29. Deadringers

    Deadringers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,833
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +1,800
    but they couldn't tell me what there is...I have not changed anything or installed anything new.

    Their software is kicking me with a reason and a code.

    They should be able to tell me what is going on and why.

    I shouldn't have to dig around for ages and try closing down every other program my PC is running in an attempt to find what is wrong.

    Plus all I ever have open is TS3, IE9 and Origin.
     
  30. eiren

    eiren
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,796

    They have told you... it's software similar to what they pointed out that's being detected by PunkBuster as malicious.

    You need to check your task manager and see what's running in the background.

    Try some of these:

    armsvc.exe 1968 AdobeARMservice
    svchost.exe 1992 Akamai
    CrashPlanService.exe 2012 CrashPlanService
    svchost.exe 2104 FDResPub, FontCache, SSDPSRV, upnphost,
    wcncsvc
    inetinfo.exe 2144 IISADMIN
    srvany.exe 2256 KMService
    KMService.exe 2284 N/A
    LSSrvc.exe 2292 LightScribeService
    conhost.exe 2300 N/A
    LMIGuardianSvc.exe 2364 LMIGuardianSvc
    ramaint.exe 2464 LMIM


    Looks like you have uPNP enabled which I've heard some people have issues with.

    Personally my next most suspect thing is you have LogMeIn running:

    http://www.whatsrunning.net/QueryProcessID.aspx?Process=25140
     

Share This Page

Loading...