1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ptae500 - anyone else got vertical bands?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by didger, Jun 12, 2004.

  1. didger

    didger
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +0
    bought ptae500 about 2 weeks ago, only used it a bit until i finally hooked up trigger to electric screen (what a headache!)..
    anyway having watched football and several movies i began to see vertical bands in lighter areas when picture is moving.

    Initailly thought it was a dodgy SVHS lead, but it is now connected from pioneer 868 via HDMI-DVI...Then thought damn its the screen, but put it up and bands were still on white wall....aghhh

    Took projector back yesterday and tested in shop, then tested another one - both the same.
    Dealer phoned panny techical support - who say they know it is there, but it is normal because of mask/smooth screen ......

    Is this right and do all LCD projectors suffer from this mild vertical banding???
    cheers... :confused:
     
  2. andrew constant

    andrew constant
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +3
    i to have verticl bands what show up more on digi box than on dvd, just watched euro 2004 and it showed up real bad on the grass,the lines are allways in the same place on the screen,the reveiw in mags like what home cinima and home entertainment did not mention otherwise i would not brought one .
     
  3. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +374
    The epson panels that both the 500 and Z2 share do exhibit VB. Depends on your luck on what you get in the box, as some panels are better/worse than others.

    You can go into the service menu and adjust the flicker settings until it disappears to your eyes. This will help with less apparent banding, but do this about after 45 mins of the PJ running.
     
  4. tomacwhite

    tomacwhite
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Ratings:
    +21
    I have an AE200 and you get vertical banding on that. Seems to be more of a problem on Xbox DVD playback through component and RGB over anything else. I run lots of kit through mine, and you do get it on light scenes (ie sky scenes on DVDs or games etc).

    Not too much you can do about it I am afriad.
     
  5. didger

    didger
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for replies,
    I have been into service menu and adjusted green flicker which has now virtually eliminated the vertical banding.
    I can see it if i look for it , But it is not obvious anymore
    :thumbsup:
     
  6. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,069
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +374
    ;)...........
     
  7. andrew constant

    andrew constant
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +3
    please could u tell me how to acsess the service menu .thanks
     
  8. didger

    didger
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +0
    go to options, highlight OSD
    hold down enter for about 5 seconds
    BINGO
    I adjusted green from 27 to 2E.......

    Good luck :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...