Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Pt-ae300

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by higenbs1, Jan 13, 2003.

  1. higenbs1

    higenbs1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    What's the biggest screen size that anyone can get out of this projector without the chicken wire effect showing. Can it do 7-8ft successfully?
     
  2. gothmog

    gothmog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sunny Shipley
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using mine with a 8f wide (110" ish diagonal) 16:9 screen.

    No screendoor at all.

    You have to put your face right up against the screen to start resolving pixels but even then there are not gaps.

    Picture on this link here:

    http://www.g0th2000.freeserve.co.uk/2001b.jpg

    If I've got time tonight I'll do an extreme close-up and post a pic :)

    -- Jon
     
  3. higenbs1

    higenbs1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Gothmog - Cheers for that - Have to say, the other pics on your website, especially T2, look fantastic.
     
  4. gothmog

    gothmog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sunny Shipley
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hehe, yeah the sheet worked suprisingly well until I got the proper screen!

    Here's the closeup:

    http://www.g0th2000.freeserve.co.uk/ae300macro.jpg

    A completely unfair test taken from about 2 feet using macro zoom on my camera :)

    If you say nothing else good about the AE300, you have to say
    the smoothscreen works pretty well!

    -- Jon
     
  5. higenbs1

    higenbs1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Impressive stuff - I think my mind's made up. How does it handle interlaced composite/s-vid, or have you got everything going through a deinterlacer. Any chance of some shots of composite/s-vid?
     
  6. gothmog

    gothmog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sunny Shipley
    Ratings:
    +0
    All the shots on my site are via S-video apart from the one shot of IRC which was poorly set-up VGA.

    I'm using my Yamaha amp for S-video switching and running the video down a 10m S-video cable from cpc (£20+ vat ;) ).

    I'll try and do a more coherent set of shots if I get the time :)

    -- Jon
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice