1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pt-ae300

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by higenbs1, Jan 13, 2003.

  1. higenbs1

    higenbs1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    What's the biggest screen size that anyone can get out of this projector without the chicken wire effect showing. Can it do 7-8ft successfully?
     
  2. gothmog

    gothmog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sunny Shipley
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using mine with a 8f wide (110" ish diagonal) 16:9 screen.

    No screendoor at all.

    You have to put your face right up against the screen to start resolving pixels but even then there are not gaps.

    Picture on this link here:

    http://www.g0th2000.freeserve.co.uk/2001b.jpg

    If I've got time tonight I'll do an extreme close-up and post a pic :)

    -- Jon
     
  3. higenbs1

    higenbs1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Gothmog - Cheers for that - Have to say, the other pics on your website, especially T2, look fantastic.
     
  4. gothmog

    gothmog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sunny Shipley
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hehe, yeah the sheet worked suprisingly well until I got the proper screen!

    Here's the closeup:

    http://www.g0th2000.freeserve.co.uk/ae300macro.jpg

    A completely unfair test taken from about 2 feet using macro zoom on my camera :)

    If you say nothing else good about the AE300, you have to say
    the smoothscreen works pretty well!

    -- Jon
     
  5. higenbs1

    higenbs1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Impressive stuff - I think my mind's made up. How does it handle interlaced composite/s-vid, or have you got everything going through a deinterlacer. Any chance of some shots of composite/s-vid?
     
  6. gothmog

    gothmog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sunny Shipley
    Ratings:
    +0
    All the shots on my site are via S-video apart from the one shot of IRC which was poorly set-up VGA.

    I'm using my Yamaha amp for S-video switching and running the video down a 10m S-video cable from cpc (£20+ vat ;) ).

    I'll try and do a more coherent set of shots if I get the time :)

    -- Jon
     

Share This Page

Loading...