1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PT-AE100 image size/throw

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Bert Coules, Mar 17, 2002.

1. Bert Coules

Bert Coules

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +119
    I'm very new to the idea of using a projector, but have been much impressed with all the favourable comments on the Panasonic AE100.

This is very much a beginner's question, but I've not seen the answer spelled out anywhere: does this model project a fixed-size image, or does it have a zoom facility (either digitally or optically)?

I reckon I can accommodate a 6 foot wide screen. What would be the ideal projector-screen distance for an image that size?

Many thanks in advance.

Bert Coules

www.bertcoules.co.uk

2. Timh

Timh

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +140
    does this model project a fixed-size image, or does it have a zoom facility (either digitally or optically)?

It has both, but you will only use the optical zoom.
    A 6ft wide image at a rough guess would be at about 3.3 metre's.

3. mattr

mattr

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +19
    Hi Bert,

What you need to do is head over to

http://www.projectorcentral.com/projection_calc.cfm

and select the Panasonic and you can type in the value you have to determine the unknown. So for a 6" wide screen you'll need to be 8" back.

Cheers,
    Matt

4. Bert Coules

Bert Coules

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +119
    Thanks to Timh and Matt for the speedy replies. I didn't know about ProjectorCentral, which is clearly a very useful site.

An 8 - 10ft throw sounds manageable for my situation. I must say, I'm extremely tempted...