1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PSU for sonic T amp

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by teabelly, Mar 22, 2005.

  1. teabelly

    teabelly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    Anyone recommend a good psu for this sonic impact T amp? I think I'm going to be going through batteries by the bucket load otherwise ;) It's nominally 12v but the tnt audio reviewer find 13.8 volts seemed to sound even better but it usually takes up to 1.5amp current wise so a 2a power supply might have bit more headroom. The best maplin seem to have in small powersupplies is 1.2amp which might be a bit pushed.
     
  2. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    13.8V, 2A PSU says one thing to me: C.B. Radio. Track one down ;)

    HTH,
    Mike.
     
  3. teabelly

    teabelly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    Thanks, that is a good idea. I might get one of those bench psu things that offer a variety of outputs so I can experiment / let out the magic smoke ;)
     
  4. Relay

    Relay
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Search Ebay for 'AC Adaptor DC Power Supply 12V 5A for Laptop/TFT Screen'. Excellent build, 12v and 5A and next day delivery.
     
  5. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +990
    Do any shops sell this yet or is it still only an eBay jobbie?
     
  6. Relay

    Relay
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I ordered mine from thinkgeek.com. Amazingly fast delivery via DHL within 3 - 4 days. Total cost including delivery about £35. Add the power supply I mentioned above which can delivery the required current for say £15 and for £50 you have an amp that really does live up to the hype. Like many others I've replaced the speaker clips with proper binding posts (Maplin) which allows me to use proper cable. It delivers an astonishing sound through my B&W CDM 9NTs.
     
  7. fish99

    fish99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +14
    Sorry to drag up an old thread, but I'm thinking of ordering a Sonic Impact 5066 amp, and I'm also wondering what to power it with since batteries would be inconvenient and expensive.

    I don't really know how volts/amp works, but is it safe to use a 12V 5A adapter (as suggested above) when the amp wants 12V 2A? Doing a search for 'AC Adaptor DC Power Supply 12V 5A for Laptop/TFT Screen' doesn't find anything on ebay at the moment. Also there's a chance whatever I buy won't have the right size connector for the amp.

    On ebay there is a 12V/2A adaptor from the US which says it will work with 110V to 240V. It's 2 pin so it'd need to be used with a shaving adaptor, but again there's no guarantee the connector would fit the amp.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers,
    Simon.
     
  8. fish99

    fish99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +14
  9. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    The 6moons review suggests not using a switching PSU for reasons of sound quality. I would be more inclined to use something like this (first item.)
     
  10. fish99

    fish99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +14
    Cheers. I was looking at the exact same thing on the maplins site earlier, but maplins charge more for them. Hard to see what connectors it has though - the picture is most unenlightenning :laugh:
     
  11. fish99

    fish99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +14
    Maplins also have a 13.8V 3A unit for £15-

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Search.aspx?criteria=XM20W&DOY=24m3

    Seems like these units (and the Nevada Radio one) have two binding post type power sockets on them (1 positive, 1 negative). I wouldn't have the foggiest how to connect from those to the amp though :rolleyes:
     
  12. Ferrino

    Ferrino
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi - i am also interested in power supplies for a sonic impact t-amp and it seems that the big 13.8V jobbies are recommended - but how do you go from the 2 binding posts on the PSU to the 'barrel-type' DC connector that penetrates the amp? Do you have to bodge your own adapter or can you buy a barrel connector with some flying leads on the end?

    thanks!
     
  13. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,313
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +128
    Sorry to jump in but what are dimensions of the amp, i'm thinking of getting one to power an outdoor speaker,good news is i have a 30amp psu sat here.
     
  14. fish99

    fish99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +14
    30A or 3A? Anyway, it's 6*4 inches and 2.5 inches high.
     
  15. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,313
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +128
    30amp constant output with 45amp surge ,you never know when you going to need a little extra power ,looks like just the amp for the job, thanks.
     
  16. fish99

    fish99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +14
    I don't know a great deal about electricity but wouldn't putting 30A into a device that's rated at 2A damage it?
     
  17. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,313
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +128
    Your right about the first comment:) ,the amp will draw the amount of current it needs not the full 30amp ,you can cause more damage with an underpowering psu as the voltage can be very unstable.
     
  18. peskywinnets

    peskywinnets
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +60

    No because the PSU will only deliver 30A if the amp 'asked for it'...it won't, running at max the amp will require about 2A, therefore that is the max the PSU will provide when working with the amp.

    Think of the PSU as being capable of delivering upto 30A current, but normally it's just going to deliver 1A or less.
     
  19. fish99

    fish99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +14
    Okeydokey :D
     
  20. HaloJones

    HaloJones
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would it be possible to power it from a PC PSU? They put out 12v and 2A would be no problem. Then you could strip the casing and mount it inside the computer itself enabling easy running of proper Hi-Fi speakers from a computer.
     
  21. craigizmo2k2

    craigizmo2k2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,863
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Boston, Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +167
  22. peskywinnets

    peskywinnets
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +60
    You've answered your own question! Yes it can ....no problem.
     
  23. fish99

    fish99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +14
    Might want to shield it if it's going inside a PC case.
     
  24. Ianfromnotts

    Ianfromnotts
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +170
    I used an Astron 12A to good effect(http://www.radioinc.com/oscmax/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=34&products_id=369) . It might look a bit aggricultural but variable voltage can go up to 13.6v with ease and still deliver 9amps continuous power and the power leads all exit on the rear. Astron PSU are much sought after by CB and radio hams but trickky to find in UK . Case has some marks and it needs a weight on the top to stop the transformer hum but sitting here unused if any one wants to make me a sensible offer ( I sold the Audio Digit amp somw time back and have no use for it now) and before some one asks yes it is wired for UK mains.
     

Share This Page

Loading...