PSP and IP address

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by CeeJay775, Aug 15, 2006.

  1. CeeJay775

    CeeJay775
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Not on this planet
    Ratings:
    +208
    have just got a PSP for my son and it finds our wireless hub ok but having probs with it getting the IP adress any help. Please. Thanks.:)
     
  2. bsuttie

    bsuttie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +206
    Are you sure you're running a DHCP server?

    Brian
     
  3. CeeJay775

    CeeJay775
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Not on this planet
    Ratings:
    +208
    PLease dont confuse me mate.:)not sure what it is.
     
  4. CeeJay775

    CeeJay775
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Not on this planet
    Ratings:
    +208
    IF i explain what I have will that help?, I have the wireless bt home hub, I have my xbox 360 and pc pluged in with wires , when i switch the PSP to wireless the PSP finds the BT hub OK, then as I say the IP bit times out before it finds it.:)
     
  5. bsuttie

    bsuttie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +206
    Sorry, didn't mean to confuse you, the DHCP server is what gives out the IP address. I mentioned it just in case it rung a bell i.e to sort out some other problem you had disabled DHCP and manually assigned IP addresses.

    Afraid I'm not familiar with the BT Hub, maybe someone else will happen along who has one.

    regards

    Brian
     
  6. shay0

    shay0
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    God's Own County
    Ratings:
    +489
    What encryption level are you using on the router and what firmware are you running on the PSP? I had a problem with my PSP as it wouldn't connect to anything until I upgraded the firware from 2.01 to 2.71.
     
  7. tinners

    tinners
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +242
    It sounds most likey to be a dhcp problem if it connects OK.

    Look in your router documentation for the DHCP server section and check it is turned on.
     
  8. CeeJay775

    CeeJay775
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Not on this planet
    Ratings:
    +208
    All sorted now. It was the WEP key from my hub i was missing. Thanks for the help.:thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice